What To Do For Plumbing Rough Inspection? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 09:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Question

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


Hi all,

I'm adding a second bathroom in our house. I've talked to the inspector to make sure my venting plans are correct, and now I'm ready to install the drains and supplies. I'm going to have the supply lines pressurized with the water supply so the inspector can see that there aren't any leaks. But I have a few questions on the drain side of plumbing:

1) I'm not planning on having the tile floor installed yet. Is it usually OK to have the toilet flange attached but not glued to the waste line for the rough inspection?

2) I'm going to have a Kerdi shower. I was planning on having the pre-sloped tray and drain installed and the drain glued to the waste line. How do you leak test the shower if the walls aren't up yet? I can't hang the sheetrock and Kerdi on the walls before getting rough framing inspection, and the rough framing inspector won't come out until after the rough plumbing inspection is done...I'm in a pickle!

3) This question ties into #2. When you leak test the shower, do you just plug the shower drain at the shower pan, or do you somehow plug the waste line and fill the whole waste line + shower pan with water?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

red86yota is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 10:19 AM   #2
plumbing contractor
 
PLUMBINGITALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: south carolina
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


First i would shim the toilet flang up the tickness of the tile and hardy board and glue it up and screw it to the floor. but if you do not want to do that you will need to plug the drian with a wing nut plug at the toilet and at the shower. Then fill the drian and vents with water at the top of the vent. Some inspecters will allow you to just fill the drains by putting water in to the shower pan about 2 to 3". I would just ask the inspector what he or she perfers. If they do let you just fill the shower you will not need to plug the shower.

Advertisement

PLUMBINGITALL is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:32 PM   #3
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


most inspectors are pretty easy to get along with. Im an electrician and for our inspections, the inspectors usually don't care if there are a few loose ends here and there. Like exterior lights not up yet because siding isn't up yet. The inspector is looking for a things wrong. Im sure he will trust that your not going to skip putting the toilet in. The shower, just tell him your predicament, most won't even care, as long as what your planning is correct, but he may want to come back to look at that later
jimmy21 is online now  
Old 09-12-2010, 04:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 601
Rewards Points: 500
Default

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


you won't pass inspection without a pressure test. Water or air, you have to fill the system to verify there are no leaks. Either do what the guy above said and shim up the closet flange, or just extend the pipe up a foot and put a cap on it. Flange isn't required for rough in inspection in my area, and you can always trim the pipe down and install it later. Ask the inspector to find out if he wants to see the flange yet.
the_man is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 05:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


This thread is over 5 months old
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 05:39 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

what to do for plumbing rough inspection?


Gee.... I wonder if he passed? LOL

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough electrical inspection - passed today! THANKS!!! vsheetz Electrical 4 02-06-2009 11:42 PM
Preparing for an inspection epeterson777 Building & Construction 2 01-18-2009 06:37 PM
Preparing for eletrical rough inspection? gone_fishing Electrical 10 01-07-2009 12:38 PM
Rough in inspection matrix733 Electrical 4 10-29-2007 10:55 PM
Passed rough inspection, thank you! mt232 Electrical 1 06-13-2007 04:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts