Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 09:45 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
I think I would have dont his with a Y and an 1/8 bend, and a cleanout?
yeah, i could have done it that way. but i saw no problem with doing it the way i did. and i wanted to get the job done.

i only bought 1 Y. and you can see that i had used that. so i have to get another and put it in.

what is a water test ? nothing is leaking now.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:47 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


oh.

everything is working just fine. and when i took out the old stuff, i was highly suprised at just how clean the pipes were inside.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:01 PM   #48
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


under the old code you could not pipe in a tub down stream of a toilet new code lets you pipe it in up to 10 feet down stream of the toilet, E i think he wants everything tucked up in the joist, we can 45 the wye but need a minimum or 24 inches on the arm again thats my code that breaks the siphon action down here we actually have 2 codes we have the upc and what that doesn't cover we have the Florida plumbing code. pain in the butt
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:05 PM   #49
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


[/PHP]
PHP Code:
what is a water test nothing is leaking now.[/QUOTE 
]

as long as its draining nothing may be leaking but under pressure (stoppage) fittings may leak.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:07 PM   #50
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,015
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
under the old code you could not pipe in a tub down stream of a toilet new code lets you pipe it in up to 10 feet down stream of the toilet, E i think he wants everything tucked up in the joist, we can 45 the wye but need a minimum or 24 inches on the arm again thats my code that breaks the siphon action down here we actually have 2 codes we have the upc and what that doesn't cover we have the Florida plumbing code. pain in the butt
Makes sense. I've only worked UPC- which is overblown in some areas. Idaho is working on their own hybrid "UPC" called the Idaho Plumbing Code(IPC)- go figure...
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:09 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
i think he wants everything tucked up in the joist
what ever gave you that idea

that space is MUCH nicer now.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:14 PM   #52
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
yeah, i could have done it that way. but i saw no problem with doing it the way i did. and i wanted to get the job done.

i only bought 1 Y. and you can see that i had used that. so i have to get another and put it in.

what is a water test ? nothing is leaking now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Makes sense. I've only worked UPC- which is overblown in some areas. Idaho is working on their own hybrid "UPC" called the Idaho Plumbing Code(IPC)- go figure...

OOOPs correction were under the IPC not the UPC very similar from what Ive seen
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:15 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
[/PHP]
PHP Code:
what is a water test nothing is leaking now.[/QUOTE 
]

as long as its draining nothing may be leaking but under pressure (stoppage) fittings may leak.
gotcha. someone would have to drop some monsterous turds for that to happen.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:19 PM   #54
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,015
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Ya know Fix- It's been mentioned to put a wye at the base of the stack, but you can also use whats called a clean out tee or test tee. Might save you a couple bucks and works just as well
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
Javiles (02-24-2013)
Old 02-24-2013, 10:23 PM   #55
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Ya know Fix- It's been mentioned to put a wye at the base of the stack, but you can also use whats called a clean out tee or test tee. Might save you a couple bucks and works just as well

Then it would be a good time to test the system.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:36 PM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Ya know Fix- It's been mentioned to put a wye at the base of the stack, but you can also use whats called a clean out tee or test tee. Might save you a couple bucks and works just as well
yes, i am, this coming weekend. i will look for this parts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
Then it would be a good time to test the system.
i'm not pushing my luck. though i am 99.999% sure i have it glued up well.
but ya know what. i am thinking about changing the bathroom layout (to make room for a larger vanity) and nearly all of that plumbing would be replaced anyway.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:51 PM   #57
Plumber
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Makes sense. I've only worked UPC- which is overblown in some areas. Idaho is working on their own hybrid "UPC" called the Idaho Plumbing Code(IPC)- go figure...
If they do that do you think we may have to re-test when we renew our license ?
I hate taking test.
I just renewed this month so I'm good tell Feb 2116.
DidIDoThat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:57 PM   #58
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,393
Rewards Points: 574
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DidIDoThat View Post
If they do that do you think we may have to re-test when we renew our license ?
I hate taking test.
I just renewed this month so I'm good tell Feb 2116.
We dont have to worry about that in florida contractors exams has very little to do with the trade,
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:43 PM   #59
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,015
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DidIDoThat View Post
If they do that do you think we may have to re-test when we renew our license ?
I hate taking test.
I just renewed this month so I'm good tell Feb 2116.
I doubt you'll need to retest but you will need some ID CEU by then. Best to go to the state website and read for yourself.
I picked up some Washington work from a Idaho shop cuz their jmen let their WA Jcards lapse - I live in a border town and carry both
I need to renew my WA license real soon and it takes a couple CEU classes but my ID plumbing contractors is good for a couple more years

Quote:
We dont have to worry about that in florida contractors exams has very little to do with the trade,
Idaho Cont. test is a Jman exam with about 20 Idaho contractor regs thrown in.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 10:05 AM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,886
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

what am i dealing with here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Ya know Fix- It's been mentioned to put a wye at the base of the stack, but you can also use whats called a clean out tee or test tee. Might save you a couple bucks and works just as well
they didn't those. so i just got a wye and the fittings for it.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealing with split-circuit receptacles demandrew Electrical 5 12-20-2011 07:22 AM
hands all chapped from dealing with flux amakarevic Plumbing 6 09-29-2011 01:13 PM
will i need a wet saw if dealing with 1" mosaic amakarevic Flooring 17 05-20-2011 09:07 PM
What am I dealing with here? Robbinsm88 Pest Control 1 05-20-2011 02:45 PM
Dealing With old large cast iron radiators and new floors ??? ants1929 Flooring 4 02-12-2011 08:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.