Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 07:04 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
Hi I live in rural Montana and obviously have well. It is 225' down and a sub. pump. I have 3 yard hydrants in my yard that were all working fine 2 nights ago.

I went out to water the horses last night and no water at all at yard hydrant. Opened it, nothing...

Went to other yard hydrants and they were all the same... no pressure, water, nothing...

Inside the house I have heard the pump come on and go off accordingly and have a very minimal decrease in pressure inside. Other then that nothing. (PS I could be wrong, my wife says NO change in water pressure inside, which I guess could be true since we have a pressure tank, not sure, seems like it is a bit less forceful when fully opened then usual to me...)

WTH could be wrong?

I have walked the water line for the yard hydrants and have found no sink holes, mud holes, etc... Nothing. Granted the ground is frozen now, I would assume I would still see some sort of sign of a major leak like this.

With that said... Why wouldn't i have ANY water pressure at the yard hydrant even with a leak?

Is my sub. pump going bad?

Where do I start? I cant afford to have a well pump guy out and it not be that and he charge me an arm and a leg for a visit. And vice versa for renting a back hoe and digging up my yard looking for a leak.

HELP, IDEAS NEEDED!!!!

The way I read it none are working. Am I missing something?

user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:05 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
IIRC he said 1 of the 3 is working and the 2 that are not are on separate lines teed off the main line. You could look that up and let me know if I'm wrong.
I reposted the first post. What did I miss??
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:25 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


if your wells / press tank is not cycling with all off in house no leak. does your line to hydr start before or after press tank? one line with branch lines? where does it first go into the ground?
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:09 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
if your wells / press tank is not cycling with all off in house no leak. does your line to hydr start before or after press tank? one line with branch lines? where does it first go into the ground?
This is my assumption as I havent seen the area that the hydrants TEE from but it APPEARS that the hydrants are fed directly from the well and NOT from my homes pressure tank.

There is 1 line that comes into the house for water and it comes in and goes directly, through misc piping, to the pressure tank.

Is there any well set ups where as there is a different feeder for the non-house water?
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:11 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Furthermore... My well pump is acting completely normal as far as cycling and such. I only hear noise from the pumps junction box when it is cycling ON.

If it was pumping all the time, I would hear that right? I mean the pumps junction box is LOUD when it is churning (on cycle) so if it was pumping 23 gallons a minute out the pump would be on all the time right?

I am baffled and do not want to start digging up my yard
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:13 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


If it were me, I would get a tank to haul water until spring.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:25 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driller1 View Post
If it were me, I would get a tank to haul water until spring.
I thought about this as I have a 75 gallon tank at my disposal but I have a few problems.

1. My house pressure tank is 100 gallon so it would almost fully drain it to fill the 75 gallon tank from my home garden spigot. Horse trough is 100 gallon and I have 2 of them to fill... I also need about 100 gallons in the barn for usage inside the barn. So that is a **** LOAD of water to haul

2. I live 20 miles from a town that I could find water, my neighbors are all gone for the winter and have their homes winterized, thus no water.


For the record, I would be hard up to NOT have a 4 way tee in the main line from the well to the house. Well to house is 2 of the 4 way and then I have yard hydrants that run off those on both sides, thus the other two of the 4 way.

With that said, why would only the two hydrants not be getting water but the main house is?????

Last edited by mntnvew; 01-06-2010 at 12:30 PM.
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:28 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Are there any "check valves" or something else that could break and cause this? Like I mentioned earlier, the pressure loss was not IMMEDIATE but a slow down over a course of a few minutes, and that was at the farthest away hydrant.

PS - I am going to get a hose tonight and cut male end and put a female on the cut end so I can hook the hose directly to the yard hydrant closest to the house and then turn on water and run to barn and open yard hydrant there and see if i get water....

If I dont I think I can safely assume I have a leak underground, would you all concur with me on that assumption?

If I do get water, well then, IDKWTFTD!

Last edited by mntnvew; 01-06-2010 at 12:34 PM.
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:35 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
I thought about this as I have a 75 gallon tank at my disposal but I have a few problems.

1. My house pressure tank is 100 gallon so it would almost fully drain it to fill the 75 gallon tank from my home garden spigot. Horse trough is 100 gallon and I have 2 of them to fill... I also need about 100 gallons in the barn for usage inside the barn. So that is a **** LOAD of water to haul

2. I live 20 miles from a town that I could find water, my neighbors are all gone for the winter and have their homes winterized, thus no water.


For the record, I would be hard up to NOT have a 4 way tee in the main line from the well to the house. Well to house is 2 of the 4 way and then I have yard hydrants that run off those on both sides, thus the other two of the 4 way.

With that said, why would only the two hydrants not be getting water but the main house is?????
If your well pumps 23 GPM what is the problem?
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:39 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Additionally, I keep going back to the pump because of the way the water pressure slowly decreased the night I last used the water. I had been using it for a while that night on and off, and then the last time I used it the pressure was lower then usual but still flowing, flowing enough to fill 2 7 gallon humidifier water tanks.

The next day I went out and turned on the hyrdant and nothing at all came out.

If it was a leak, why would I have the pressure still to fill the tanks but the next night NO pressure?

The decrease of flow, while still maintaining some flow, wouldn't that be indicative of the pump crapping out?

IDK, I realize I am grasping at straws and am going to have to do "something" i dont want to have to do.

Anyone in Montana have a 3 PT backhoe I can borrow for a weekend? I have a 80HP tractor but no backhoe for it! If it isn't one thing it's another!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:41 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


How are you watering your stock now???
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:41 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driller1 View Post
If your well pumps 23 GPM what is the problem?
That is 23 GPM to the yard hydrants, inside the house the pressure at any of the spigots is MUCH less then that. For instance I filled a 5 gallon jug last night with the garden spigot on my house and it took 3 minutes to fill it. That isnt 23 gallon a minute output inside the house, only at the spigots that are not working
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:42 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driller1 View Post
How are you watering your stock now???
They had full troughs from three nights ago. I put 10 gallons in last night and will do more tonight. The troughs are about 1/3 full now and 10 gallons dont make a dent. Just trying to keep then with something!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:52 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Can I "reset" the pump to force it to come on? I was thinking I could stand at the hydrant closest to the house and have it OPEN and have wife trip the pump to have it come on and see if that produced any sort of output from the yard hydrant.

Is that information even worth a grain of salt thought???

My local pump company wants 250 bucks to come out and test the well, OUCH!!!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:58 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
Can I "reset" the pump to force it to come on? I was thinking I could stand at the hydrant closest to the house and have it OPEN and have wife trip the pump to have it come on and see if that produced any sort of output from the yard hydrant.

Is that information even worth a grain of salt thought???

My local pump company wants 250 bucks to come out and test the well, OUCH!!!
That is very high for a service call. How far would they have to come?? Why to do want to check the well??

Get prices on digging up the line. If you have house insurece, they will pay for it. Work with the contractor on the deducible.


Last edited by user69544; 01-06-2010 at 01:00 PM.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no water at spigot, spigot, well pump, yard hydrant


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water pouring into basement from around water supply line matty8199 Building & Construction 29 12-29-2009 05:07 PM
Very Low Hot Water Pressure. PAS1970 General DIY Discussions 2 02-25-2009 03:01 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 08:09 AM
Old house with water troubles wade Plumbing 1 01-16-2008 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.