Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 12:37 PM   #16
Water quality'n pump guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wherever I park the motorhome.
Posts: 358
Share |
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Unless you have frost free hydrants installed properly with sufficient drainage under them, my assumption (assumptions against any possibility should not be made) is that you have two (or 3) separately frozen hydrants.

You can have had a serious leak for months and not be able to see any evidence of it on the ground.

And PEX was a poor choice, 3/4" or 1" 160 or 200 psi rated PE pipe would have been much better. And if you really mean that the hydrants are black iron pipe instead og galvanized, they could be rusted shut. PEX is copper tubing size (CTS), the OD is maintained, and PE is iron pipe size (IPS), the ID is maintained (so you get more water).

So run a new PE line fed by a garden hose from the house on the ground to water the horses and install threaded sch 40 PVC unions to easily drain it after using it.

__________________
Gary Slusser
23 years in water treatment and well pumps, 13 years on the 'net helping others to help themselves.
Gary Slusser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 01:15 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


To the OP. Does your hydrant have something that looks like a plastic straw running down the side?? If so, although those are frost free, they have to be blown out with a compressor.

They make us do that to code now. (DEQ)
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 01:19 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Name:  PICT0101.JPG
Views: 785
Size:  20.9 KB It is taped on the wrong side to see on the hydrant but, maybe you can see enough.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 01:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondo View Post
And how Deep was it buried,..??
I buried it to my chest, 4+ feet down.
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
Unless you have frost free hydrants installed properly with sufficient drainage under them, my assumption (assumptions against any possibility should not be made) is that you have two (or 3) separately frozen hydrants.
I really TRIED to educate myself before I installed them and I put a crap load of 2-3 inch gravel, then 1-2 inch gravel, then 6-8 inches of sand underneath the hydrants and I got the 9 foot hydrants and only 2.5 feet is above ground, so they are WAY DOWN there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
You can have had a serious leak for months and not be able to see any evidence of it on the ground.
By serious leak do you mean a outright POURING of water @ 23 gallon a minute? That is what our pump puts out at the yard hydrants, tested last fall. Right now I open them and NOTHING happens, not a drip, sound, nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
And PEX was a poor choice, 3/4" or 1" 160 or 200 psi rated PE pipe would have been much better. And if you really mean that the hydrants are black iron pipe instead og galvanized, they could be rusted shut. PEX is copper tubing size (CTS), the OD is maintained, and PE is iron pipe size (IPS), the ID is maintained (so you get more water).
No I was referring to the actual well piping, not the yard hydrants, 2 of the three were new 2 years ago. the older one is old but works fine, until 2 nights ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
So run a new PE line fed by a garden hose from the house on the ground to water the horses and install threaded sch 40 PVC unions to easily drain it after using it.
That works for non-sub zero days, but when we are subzero, the water hose freezes before the water can get out the other end to create a flow. It is 300-350 yards.


I am just baffled, the damn thing was working GREAT on a daily basis and then all of a sudden... It isnt even that cold!!!!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:10 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
I buried it to my chest, 4+ feet down.
4 foot isn't much if you drive over it. If we have to go though a person's driveway we lay foam insulation over the line, then we fill it in. In the summer you could try that.

Last edited by user69544; 01-05-2010 at 02:14 PM.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:24 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driller1 View Post
4 foot isn't much if you drive over it. If we have to go though a person's driveway we lay foam insulation over the line, then we fill it in. In the summer you could try that.
REALLY? I dont mean to act like I know up from down, but dayum!!!

When I was trenching the line I could see where the frost line had been and it was at 28 inches down. We live in HIGH DESERT, so the soil is sand with large rocks, the rockies Dont get me started on driving fence posts, UGH!

And the line has been through 2 winters without issue, working on a daily basis to provide water to barn & horses via yard hydrants.

I guess I was hoping someone would say, man if 23 gallons a minute was flowing out under ground you'd have a sink hole after 2, three now, days of nonstop running, or my well pump would have broke by now.

I dont know where to start, I do NOT want to dig up my yard, $ is tight in these times and new materials to run a new run would be more then I could afford right now.

UGH!!!!!

PS - Any well pump experts on here? Are my previously assumptions accurate? Would I hear the heavy duty pump on all the time if I had a leak of 23/gallon a minute rushing into the ground?

What about the pressure when I open a yard hydrant, shouldn't I get SOMETHING out of it even with a leak/break in the line?

I guess I should run a damn garden hose to it from the house and see if I can get it to come out the other end....

This is frustrating to say the least.

THANKS ALL!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:31 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
The loss of pressure like that would lead me to believe the well pump, or is that wrong of me to assume the pump?

Same pump for the house right? If you have pressure in the house then it isn't the pump.


My relatives in Pennsylvania have a 48" frost line. I have to believe it's deeper in Montana. When I do a casual google search I'm seeing 5 feet and 6 feet (probably depends on the part of the state).
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:39 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
REALLY? I dont mean to act like I know up from down, but dayum!!!

When I was trenching the line I could see where the frost line had been and it was at 28 inches down. We live in HIGH DESERT, so the soil is sand with large rocks, the rockies Dont get me started on driving fence posts, UGH!

And the line has been through 2 winters without issue, working on a daily basis to provide water to barn & horses via yard hydrants.

I guess I was hoping someone would say, man if 23 gallons a minute was flowing out under ground you'd have a sink hole after 2, three now, days of nonstop running, or my well pump would have broke by now.

I dont know where to start, I do NOT want to dig up my yard, $ is tight in these times and new materials to run a new run would be more then I could afford right now.

UGH!!!!!

PS - Any well pump experts on here? Are my previously assumptions accurate? Would I hear the heavy duty pump on all the time if I had a leak of 23/gallon a minute rushing into the ground?

What about the pressure when I open a yard hydrant, shouldn't I get SOMETHING out of it even with a leak/break in the line?

I guess I should run a damn garden hose to it from the house and see if I can get it to come out the other end....

This is frustrating to say the least.

THANKS ALL!
Listen and see if your pump is running when no water is being drawn. If you drove over the frost line it is deeper.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:41 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by pyper View Post
Same pump for the house right? If you have pressure in the house then it isn't the pump.


My relatives in Pennsylvania have a 48" frost line. I have to believe it's deeper in Montana. When I do a casual google search I'm seeing 5 feet and 6 feet (probably depends on the part of the state).
Mine would pump the same in the house with a broken line outside but, I would have a lake by now.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:11 PM   #26
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
Furthermore, the last time I did use the yard hydrant in my barn, which is the farthest away from the well, the water pressure all of a sudden took a dump and was at about 50% flow.
I'd be wondering about this..... crud in the line maybe? not freeze?
recent pex work....? is the pump cycling? listen for a while....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:32 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
I'd be wondering about this..... crud in the line maybe? not freeze?
recent pex work....? is the pump cycling? listen for a while....

DM
Could be crude I guess... but it was working fine 3 nights ago now. No recent work on anything.

Pump is cycling in the house, it turns on and off as usual
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:38 PM   #28
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


chance of all three hydrants being frozen is pretty slim. Chance of the pipe that feeds the hydrants being frozen is more likely.
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:50 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


Quote:
Originally Posted by NHMaster View Post
chance of all three hydrants being frozen is pretty slim. Chance of the pipe that feeds the hydrants being frozen is more likely.
Yep, it is T-ed off someplace. That is were I would start.
user69544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 02:00 AM   #30
Water quality'n pump guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wherever I park the motorhome.
Posts: 358
Default

Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house


IIRC he said 1 of the 3 is working and the 2 that are not are on separate lines teed off the main line. You could look that up and let me know if I'm wrong.

__________________
Gary Slusser
23 years in water treatment and well pumps, 13 years on the 'net helping others to help themselves.
Gary Slusser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no water at spigot, spigot, well pump, yard hydrant


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water pouring into basement from around water supply line matty8199 Building & Construction 29 12-29-2009 05:07 PM
Very Low Hot Water Pressure. PAS1970 General DIY Discussions 2 02-25-2009 03:01 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 08:09 AM
Old house with water troubles wade Plumbing 1 01-16-2008 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.