Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 10:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Well tank installation...


i need to install a new well tank. what is the proper way to drain the tank and not have water all over the place?

also my setup has 2 switches....one by tank and one on pump. (pump is installed in house) is this necessary? can i disconnect the one at pump and just use tank??

jorgecuatro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Well tank installation...


I'm guessing you mean a bladder tank. On mine I have a spigot on the tank's tee. I hook a hose to it and run it to a drain. One pressure switch is all that is needed.

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 02:40 PM   #3
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,832
Default

Well tank installation...


There should be a drain cock on the pipe coming out of the low port of the tank. Shut off the breaker to the pump. Flush a commode or open the sink faucet to take the pressure off of the tank, then open the drain with a hose to direct the water. My system has the pressure switch on the pump. I've seen them on the pump or on the tank, never both. Perhaps somebody replaced the pump with a unit that had a switch already on it. You should only use one switch. Save a bucket of water in case you need to prime the pump after your tank replacement.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 07:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 26
Default

Well tank installation...


You should have only one pressure switch near the tank. The second one on the pump probably came with the pump. The wires from the tank probably go to the pump pressure switch and are connected to the motor side on the switch, meaning this switch is doing nothing to control the pump, it's just acting as a junction point for the wires. Any other hookup is improper.

Porky, MGWC
"NGWA" Master Ground Water Consultant
porkyva@cox.net
Porky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 12:26 AM
Sewage extraction tank installation. CDN007 Plumbing 2 01-15-2009 05:00 PM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 07:12 AM
Nightmare water tank job Marvin Gardens Plumbing 6 11-04-2008 11:09 AM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.