Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 03:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

well problem


the other day our water stopped and we have no water for a couple of days.
We changed the fuses and replaced the pressure control switch but now it still isn't working. We have power, (checked the connections for power) but there is still no water coming into the house.
The pressure control switch is a Pumptrol switch. We need water, but don't know what else could be wrong. Any solutions?

thetimelord4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

well problem


Check the current draw.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,089
Default

well problem


how deep is your well might have to pull pump to see if it is working and check wire for short
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Check the current draw.
There is current going into the pressure switch, checked. this is ok
thetimelord4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by thetimelord4 View Post
There is current going into the pressure switch, checked. this is ok
That almost certainly means the pump is pumping water.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Default

well problem


Not sure how deep the well is, we have only been in the house a couple of years and never really got an estimate from last owner
thetimelord4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,731
Default

well problem


Submersible? Jet? Do you know if the pump is running? In the absence of additional details, there are any number of possibilities.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by DexterII View Post
Submersible? Jet? Do you know if the pump is running? In the absence of additional details, there are any number of possibilities.
Submersible, in the ground, single pipe with cap at ground surface. House is located on top of a hill.
thetimelord4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,089
Default

well problem


yes there is current at pressure switch but that sends it to the pump so you need to check pump you can test the wires with a continuity tester 110 or 220 volt
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:59 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by thetimelord4 View Post
Submersible, in the ground, single pipe with cap at ground surface. House is located on top of a hill.
and the line down is a deep one not sure if I can tell from there.
thetimelord4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:59 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,089
Default

well problem


depth of well should be on record at health department
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 04:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,731
Default

well problem


Is the pump running? Pull the cap if necessary, have someone inside turn it on, and you should be able to hear or feel it. Do you have a non-contact voltage checker? If so, when they turn it on, lay it on the wire and see if you have voltage going to the pump.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 04:24 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,731
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by thetimelord4 View Post
There is current going into the pressure switch, checked. this is ok

Let's back up. Yoyizit suggested checking current draw, and this was your response, which sounds to me like you may have checked voltage. Did you check voltage or current draw? Related, but two different things. You can have voltage to the pressure switch, but if you aren't drawing current, your pump isn't running.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DexterII For This Useful Post:
Plumber101 (02-24-2012)
Old 02-24-2012, 07:11 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,294
Default

well problem


1 st check power at breaker....220 volt....next check power on line side of pressure switch.....then close pressure switch ckeck power going to pump...if you have 220 volt at load terminals ..you have to pull pump???..you can feel a vibration on the line if pump is running
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:03 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

well problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
That almost certainly means the pump is pumping water.
If the pump is pumping water, they would have water.

The pump may be running and have a bad impeller. On the top of the pump casing there is about an 11/2" hole that will allow you to release vacuum and drain down the well. If you are not getting a good seal it won't pump. You may need to tighten or replace seal. Take a 1/2" steel pipe and slightly hammer the end of the pipe out of round and make a key. If the pump is running put your ear on the casing you will hear if it is running. Worse case your well is dry.


Last edited by Hardway; 02-25-2012 at 01:26 AM.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs fried: Electrical vs. Comcast Coax Cable Problem LynOprinka Electrical 17 07-16-2012 08:01 PM
Very Strange Shower Drain Problem MattWhite Plumbing 12 05-21-2011 11:53 AM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 06:42 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.