Well Pressure Tank Issues - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2014, 09:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well pressure tank issues


I have a constant pressure well system with a jet rite 2 pressure tank. The system froze up but now I do have water in the house. The problem I am having is the water is running at 125 psi and the system is set for 50 psi. Could this be the result of my pressure tank being frozen?

Advertisement

bigen70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:30 PM   #2
Master Plumber
 
Benplumbing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Well pressure tank issues


There should be a sensor that Senses the pressure. Sounds like that might be failing even if your pressure tank bladder is shot the system still should recognize the current psi and shut off to the appropriate setting. Or the pressure gauge is busted.. Either way still might be good to have a professional look at it constant pressure control boxes can be kind of hairy

Advertisement

Benplumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Well pressure tank issues


Most / all the wells I have worked on had a pressure switch , kind of like this

http://www.supremewatersales.com/squ...FSUS7Aod1GQASw

Check to see if the fitting where the pressure switch connects to the water line , is frozen ?

Can you hear the well running continuously / not shutting off ?

Or , as has been suggested , the gauge may be defective ? ( or frozen also ? )

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 558
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Well pressure tank issues


I'm with WyrTwister. The 1/4" tube that leads up to the pressure switch may still be frozen, and as a result the switch isn't getting a proper reading of the pressure. Ice and thawing also tend to free dirt, rust, scale etc from the inside of the pipes, so it's possible the pressure switch is clogged with all that gunk, too.
Ishmael is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pressure tank


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help on Well Pressure Tank Layout osubuckeye88 Plumbing 16 02-04-2014 07:02 AM
Low water pressure (hot water only) - temp fix when I shut off water supply to tank skilletrx Plumbing 5 11-15-2012 08:37 AM
I think my plumber installed my pressure tank incorrectly. lierman44 Plumbing 11 10-19-2012 09:37 PM
Septic tank missing T and badly angled main line? denemante Plumbing 3 11-22-2011 10:29 AM
Well Pressure Tank - Maintenance? edro Plumbing 5 12-15-2010 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts