Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2011, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos)


My house was built in the 1940s, located in the northeast. When we were looking to buy it, the inspector noted the fact that the pressure switch was lacking a cover, so the bare wires and terminals are exposed. I had been meaning to take care of it, but it's a little more urgent now that I have seen a flash of spark from the switch when it turns the pump off. Anything I should know before attempting to replace this? From the reviews, I probably won't get the replacement at Lowe's or Home Depot; they look to be low quality at those places.


Here's some pictures of the basement setup. The mildew makes it look a little rough. One thing I wasn't sure about: When I remove the old switch, will I be dealing with water? As you can see, there is no shut-off between the switch and where the supply comes out of the basement floor, will there be leakage or spraying water? Hopefully that's not a dumb question. Thank you.

Edit: How can I tell which switch I need 30/50 or 40/60? And will I do harm if the old switch is 30/50 and I replace it with 40/60?







Last edited by porkfriedrice; 10-27-2011 at 03:56 PM.
porkfriedrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:15 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos)


To determine the pressure watch the gauge, the pump will start at the low set and turn off at the high set.

Buy a new switch (a big box switch is fine) and just use the cover on the old switch, they are pretty much universal. Save the switch in case the old one goes bad.

If you turn off the power and bleed the water out of the system (turn on a faucet), no water will spray.

That red/black/green un-jacketed wire is not code compliant, it should be run in a piece of seal-tight (flexible) conduit.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:22 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos)


check Grainger here http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/pre.../N-8gnZ1z11l12 as said is cool on the pressure bleed of shut the pump and open the house faucets to relieve it...you'll get a burp of water out the fitting....yes and tighten up the electrical.you could mount the control on the wall and run a flared 1/4 copper line up to it from a pipe fitting also flared to sense pipe pressure....might want to add ONE isolating valve on the rise into the house so you don't drain the riser with unions for future i think i see one union as is.when you open the fittings the only water will be whats on the pump riser pipe out of the floor
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos)


Thanks for replying. So are the sparks that I've seen normal? That's the main reason I wanted to replace the switch, not just for the cover. Thanks for the other tips!!
porkfriedrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:31 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos)


Quote:
Originally Posted by porkfriedrice View Post
Thanks for replying. So are the sparks that I've seen normal? That's the main reason I wanted to replace the switch, not just for the cover. Thanks for the other tips!!
Sparks are normal when the switch opens or closes, replace the cover and you wont see them.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pressure switch thumbkins HVAC 3 03-04-2011 06:17 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Pressure switch or other? rickr01 HVAC 1 11-08-2010 05:28 PM
Well Pump pressure switch help needed. slabm7 Electrical 20 11-03-2010 05:56 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.