Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Well Pressure Switch Location


I have a well with a submersible pump about 30' out from the pressure switch and 6 gallon pressure tank. I want to move the tank around to the back of the house. Are there any issues with moving the tank further away from the well/pump location (I was planning 1 1/4" pipe for the extension). Another idea would be to move only the tank and leave the pressure switch where it is so I won't have to move the 230 VAC line. Any issues with having the pressure switch in a different location from the well head or tank?

dshcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 07:06 PM   #2
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Default

Well Pressure Switch Location


I just had my in well pressure tank replaced last week with a free standing one that is in the house. The well is about 75 feet from the house. They did move the pressure switch to were the pressure tank was.

I am not sure about your pump, but with mine they just took one leg off the breaker, rerouted it to the pressure switch and back to the breaker.

I asked my brother in law about this (journeyman electrician) and he said that is an exceptable way to do it.

__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Well Pressure Switch Location


If you do not move the preasure switch with the tank the switch will turn on and off while the pump cycles. This could start a fire or kill the pump in a short time. max didtance should be only 10'.
lilh2o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:59 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,559
Default

Well Pressure Switch Location


If you can leave the 6 gallon tank at the well, you can add any size pressure tank anywhere in the system and not have any problems with the pressure switch being at the well. . If you remove the 6 gallon tank, you'll need to move the pressure switch to fairly close to the new tank.

If you leave the pressure switch at the well, and the tank is more than 10' or so away, when the pump starts it'll cause a pressure surge until the water gets moving in the line. This pressure surge will very likely cause the pressure switch to turn the pump off. Then back on again. Then back off again.

I doubt that the pump would last a month this way.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 26
Default

Well Pressure Switch Location


The pressure switch always needs to be near the tank.

If you are using a 5 gallon tank you may want to install a "Cycle Stop Valve" between the pump and the tank to prevent the pump from cycling.
Porky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pressure, pump, switch, tank


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @ 1001miles HVAC 42 12-03-2012 03:51 AM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM
Bad pressure switch? gshock HVAC 3 11-13-2007 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.