Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-26-2011, 10:14 AM   #1
bsa_bob

Rewards Points: 150

well pressure going down/ help

I have a well pump in the house that is 30 years at a guess old. It doesn't want to fill up the toilets and it gets down to a trickle of water with one flush. Where do i look first. I am a retired city plumber and no little, about a well but i know somethings not right here somewhere. tips are what i need or any explanations ,whatever. help bob s

bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:39 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,152

Is there a water filter? If there is change the element.
Is this old iron pipes? If so it some point there going to get plugged up from the inside.
Is there an outside faucet near where the pump is located to see if there is a lack of flow from the pump. Pressure means littie if there not enough flow (CFM) it's flow that counts.
Over time the impellers and the inside housings wear out on water pumps from all the sand and impuritys being pumped through them.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:39 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 276

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_bob View Post
I have a well pump in the house that is 30 years at a guess old. It doesn't want to fill up the toilets and it gets down to a trickle of water with one flush. Where do i look first. I am a retired city plumber and no little, about a well but i know somethings not right here somewhere. tips are what i need or any explanations ,whatever. help bob s