Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 05:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Well pipe size & pressure question


Installing a whole house strainer, filter and acid neutralizer system. I have a question about pipe size. I currently have 3/4" black poly coming in from well, (12gpm) and the inlet/outlets of the filter control valves are 1". What effects will I see if I go from 3/4" well line to a 1" loop for filtration, then reduced back down from 1" to 3/4" at the tee for the cold main in the house? I was told that a 1" filter control valve would allow greater flow rates but I wonder if that will hurt pressure? I thought making the filtration loop 1" would be good for future well & water line upgrades. (I also thought I had a 1" line coming in from my well when I bought everything, my mistake)
Thanks
ncrango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,002
Default

Well pipe size & pressure question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ncrango View Post
Installing a whole house strainer, filter and acid neutralizer system. I have a question about pipe size. I currently have 3/4" black poly coming in from well, (12gpm) and the inlet/outlets of the filter control valves are 1". What effects will I see if I go from 3/4" well line to a 1" loop for filtration, then reduced back down from 1" to 3/4" at the tee for the cold main in the house? I was told that a 1" filter control valve would allow greater flow rates but I wonder if that will hurt pressure? I thought making the filtration loop 1" would be good for future well & water line upgrades. (I also thought I had a 1" line coming in from my well when I bought everything, my mistake)
Thanks
well those are well founded thougths ..imo Iwould just reduce inlet for filter from 1" to 3/4 should be fine....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
jaydevries (02-22-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build up in cast iron pipe bend -> new high pressure toilet to fix? VTJeff99 Plumbing 3 02-09-2012 01:05 PM
replace a pice of pipe, how to properly shut off/vent pressure langless28 HVAC 1 01-11-2012 11:56 AM
Furnace pressure switch line/nipple question aparman HVAC 4 12-31-2011 04:27 PM
Ground Wire Size Question Suprageezer Electrical 12 07-28-2011 03:00 PM
Cast iron and rusty pipe question snowens Plumbing 2 07-27-2008 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.