Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-30-2008, 12:06 PM   #1
timthetoolman

Share |

Well I know water doesn't flow uphill...but

So heres one for you guys. I am a young contractor who has recently done a kitchen remodel. All drywall, cabinets, counters, and sink in place. Heres the question...

The home owner bought a deep sink. I have installed a garbage disposal also. I still need to hook up the pvc drains, however I notice that due to the depth of the sink the drain in the wall sits about dead center of the disposal. So i would have to add a couple 45's in prior to the trap. so.....

I know if i have to lower this here before the trap that everything from that point on will act as a trap, leaving water in about the bottom half of the disposal-bad stuff.

Any way around this problem without movin drains inside the wall????

timthetoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

I don't think so. I'm not a pro plumber, just an old DIYer, but your title said it all...water doesn't flow uphill.
If it were me, I would cut the PVC drain pipe in the wall above and below the T, flip it over, lowering it to be slightly "downhill" of the pipe out of the trap, and reassemble it with two couplings if there is enough play. Good Luck!
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:21 PM   #3
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

when ever a disposal is going to be installed the tee in the wall must be lowered about 6" If this is an after thought by the owner, they must pay the extra expense to lower it.
if the tee has a sweep to it you dont want to turn it upside down. it should sweep towards the waste pipe.

Last edited by buletbob; 11-30-2008 at 12:25 PM.
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:43 PM   #4
timthetoolman