Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-13-2009, 10:26 AM   #1

Share |

water supply layout

I am an occaisional plumber and it has been a while... I am about to install a new water supply system in a mountain cabin. I have a 3/4 female threaded fitting coming off my well pressure tank. I want to run 3/4 supplies as much as possible to the 2 baths, kitchen, washer, and outside taps. Several questions: Should I run a single 3/4 pex over the water heater and T the water heater supply line down to the water heater or do it differently? Second, should I use the flex copper connectors to and from the water heater? Runs are fairly short and I like the idea of using a hot and cold manifold with home runs to the fixtures. of course no manifolds are for sale around here. Can I make my own maifolds with PEX fittings and cutoffs of willa 3/4 manifold not supply enought pressure?

many thanks, Bill

wglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 12:07 PM   #2

water supply layout

Quote:
Should I run a single 3/4 pex over the water heater and T the water heater supply line down to the water heater or do it differently?
That would work.

Quote:
Second, should I use the flex copper connectors to and from the water heater?
They work. If you're using PEX there's no need to use Flex, use standard 3/4" rigid copper with a union and shutoff on the in and out side (so when you have to replace the hot water heater you will have an easy disconnect.) Check with your instructions and/or the PEX instructions to determine the distance from the water heater to PEX distance you must maintain...most I believe are 18".

Quote:
Runs are fairly short and I like the idea of using a hot and cold manifold with home runs to the fixtures. of course no manifolds are for sale around here. Can I make my own maifolds with PEX fittings and cutoffs of willa 3/4 manifold not supply enought pressure?