Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Stove


If you have a heat exchanger with top and bottom plumbing, why can't you have the supply line coming in the top and the return from the bottom. Thank you!

rbdarnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:42 AM   #2
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Water Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbdarnell View Post
If you have a heat exchanger with top and bottom plumbing, why can't you have the supply line coming in the top and the return from the bottom. Thank you!
Are you talking about the tank water, or the coil water?

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Water Stove


No the old water stove.. i love steamed fish!
OhioHomeDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:49 AM   #4
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Water Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioHomeDoctor View Post
No the old water stove.. i love steamed fish!
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:10 PM   #5
Plumb or Die!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Water Stove


It'll work, but not as well. Generally when using a heat exchanger for heating, you want your hottest source water heating up the coolest water from the other connections.
plumber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
Are you talking about the tank water, or the coil water?
Coil water
rbdarnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Water Stove


If there is a circulator pump in a continuous flowing water circuit going through the coil or baffle box (water back) and to a hot water tank then it does not matter which end the cold water pipe is connected to.

For gravity flow (no circulator) the hot flow to the tank must be from the top of the coil without the cold inlet entering at that point.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan HVAC 6 12-11-2010 03:26 PM
water borehole question joeuser General DIY Discussions 2 04-18-2010 11:33 PM
Well Water snuggles2010 Plumbing 3 04-13-2010 02:36 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 01:15 AM
Low Hot Water Pressure btennant Plumbing 4 12-09-2008 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.