Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 05:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: utah
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


  • my water softener runs water out of the dicharge hose all the time we called the company for service and the guy wanted to sell me a new system he said it would be cheaper than fixing the one we have is this something i could fix myself?

racoonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 05:17 PM   #2
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


Need to know what your equipment is please.

__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 06:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: utah
Posts: 2
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


I dont know what brand it is for sure it was in the house when we purchased it the sticker says ecowater systems but i think that is the company that sold/installed it sorry i dont know much about them thanks for any help you can give
racoonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 06:42 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


pictures might help.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Lightbulb

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


I work with EcoWater Canada- maybe I can help...

I'd need to know the city you're in, and somethings about the machine:

-Timer description
-size of tank(s)- are there 2 tanks or 1 tank?
-if you could send pictures of the unit to me, that'd be super

How long have you had it? I realize the person you called suggested you buy a new one, and he may be correct. I can point you in the right direction, hopefully.


thanks

EcoWater Canada- borutskim@ecowater.ca
Ecowatercanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:40 PM   #6
Water quality'n pump guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wherever I park the motorhome.
Posts: 358
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


Quote:
Originally Posted by racoonboy View Post
my water softener runs water out of the dicharge hose all the time we called the company for service and the guy wanted to sell me a new system he said it would be cheaper than fixing the one we have is this something i could fix myself?
That means that the control valve is stuck in a regeneration cycle position like backwash or rinse if there is a large flow of water and if there is a small flow, the slow rinse/brine draw cycle.

The motor losing power or dying in a cycle position or something with the rotary disc or gearing binding up or breaking would cause this.

It shouldn't cost much for parts to fix it but being it is an Ecowater and it is proprietary equipment, you can only get parts from the one local dealer. And they can charge you any amount they want to or refuse to fix it telling you that they will gladly sell you a new one for X thousand. If you decide to buy new, my advice is to not buy proprietary equipment.
__________________
Gary Slusser
23 years in water treatment and well pumps, 13 years on the 'net helping others to help themselves.

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 02-03-2010 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Removed name of brand of control valve
Gary Slusser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 04:52 AM   #7
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Default

Water softener runs water out of the discharge hose all the time


I recommend that you either get the parts to fix it yourself or call the eco water guy because replacing the unit with a "XXXXXXXX" is going to cost hundreds of dollars more than the repair will.

__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!

Last edited by beenthere; 02-03-2010 at 05:08 AM. Reason: See above post for reason
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water heater/Water softener issues norrisboat Plumbing 2 01-24-2010 01:17 PM
Went to city water - softener still needed? uncleslam General DIY Discussions 5 11-15-2009 04:08 PM
(Water Heater MYSTERY) Hot water out from dead tank with cold water in it? Inayity Plumbing 6 07-14-2008 08:36 PM
Help! Water Problem no one can solve! Goonky Plumbing 4 12-24-2007 09:03 AM
Periodic release from (I think) the T&P valve on the water heater alexz Plumbing 3 08-15-2006 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.