Water Softener, Replace, Or Replace Beads? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2014, 12:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Question

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


I have an older 70's style water canister looking guy, with an external salt tank.

The water pressure is horrible throughout the house when it is in the loop, so I bypass it currently, but everything is just getting chalky and mineraly! I was thinking, would it be cheaper for me to replace the beads, or the entire unit with something new?

The key thing here is to keep the water pressure!

Advertisement

vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,746
Rewards Points: 608
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


If it's that old I'd replace it.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


replace it just because its old, or because i'll probably never achieve decent water pressure even if I replace the resin/beads?
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,014
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vivithemage View Post
replace it just because its old, or because i'll probably never achieve decent water pressure even if I replace the resin/beads?
Replace it because it's old, outdated, inefficient technology. I'm surprised it's lasted this long. If something fails, you might not be able to get parts.

To each his own, but I don't believe anything related to my family's health is a DIY job. Though I have a lot of experience with water treatment and purification systems (primarily military), I don't mess with the unit in my home.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Replace it because it's old, outdated, inefficient technology. I'm surprised it's lasted this long. If something fails, you might not be able to get parts.

To each his own, but I don't believe anything related to my family's health is a DIY job. Though I have a lot of experience with water treatment and purification systems (primarily military), I don't mess with the unit in my home.
I have zero experience and have the same belief on anything health/code related, and i'd LOVE to switch to a one unit system, as this thing takes up space being separate.

Any advice on decent high flow systems? I have a buddy who has a culligan, and said his water flow is pretty bad after he had it installed.
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,014
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


My current unit is a Culligan, about four years old. Not sure what you mean by a "high flow system." My house is a typical 2-bedroom, 2-bath home, and I noticed no difference in flow to anything after installing the softener.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:23 PM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,098
Rewards Points: 3,254
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Another vote for replacement as well.

I don't want to further the throw it out mentality of this country (that doesn't need any help) but I think it is safe to say you got your mileage out of it.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
My current unit is a Culligan, about four years old. Not sure what you mean by a "high flow system." My house is a typical 2-bedroom, 2-bath home, and I noticed no difference in flow to anything after installing the softener.
I have only lived here a few months, just looking at things to replace now. I say high flow, as in I can use 2-3 faucts at once and not have the pressure disappear!
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:53 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,014
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vivithemage View Post
I have only lived here a few months, just looking at things to replace now. I say high flow, as in I can use 2-3 faucts at once and not have the pressure disappear!
Well, how big is your house, and how old? Using three faucets at once would be all the ones my house has; I've never tried it as there are only two of us.

I would assume, if your house is relatively new, that the plumbing would have been appropriately designed to accommodate the fixtures you have. If it's older, possibly with galvanized piping, nothing but total replacement will fix a pressure problem.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 09:15 AM   #10
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


You on municiple water or a well? What size pipe feeds your house? What is the pressure? There may be other issues at play beyond the softner.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-06-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 10:11 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Well, how big is your house, and how old? Using three faucets at once would be all the ones my house has; I've never tried it as there are only two of us.

I would assume, if your house is relatively new, that the plumbing would have been appropriately designed to accommodate the fixtures you have. If it's older, possibly with galvanized piping, nothing but total replacement will fix a pressure problem.
Nothing fancy, 3br, 2ba. It does have copper piping luckily.

but a more common occurrence .. washer and shower at once kills pressure. Or faucet + shower kills it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
You on municiple water or a well? What size pipe feeds your house? What is the pressure? There may be other issues at play beyond the softner.
municipal. I would agree that someone else is the problem, but water pressure is great when we bypass the current water softener. For fun I tried 2 faucets, dishwasher, washer, and shower and pressure was great all around.
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:35 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,448
Rewards Points: 564
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


It's probably best to replace it. Keep in mind that you need to clean the salt tank periodically. A one unit softener makes the task difficult.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:13 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
It's probably best to replace it. Keep in mind that you need to clean the salt tank periodically. A one unit softener makes the task difficult.
Makes sense. Any brand recommendations?
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:22 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,448
Rewards Points: 564
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


I have a Culligan mark 100. Been trouble free for 12 years. Only bad thing is parts are proprietary so you have to get them from Culligan. Some parts can be found on eBay. Fleck seems to be a popular brand and can be DIY installed.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:27 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 87
Default

water softener, replace, or replace beads?


Are any of the salt free solutions any good?

Advertisement

vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Water Heater Issue I Bet You've Never Experienced Before hellohello Plumbing 6 01-09-2014 12:40 AM
vacuum breaker question detroittigerfan Plumbing 17 10-12-2013 02:37 PM
Water softener installation word2yamutha Plumbing 7 09-28-2013 01:27 PM
getting metals out of well water without a water softener? mlc28 Plumbing 6 11-19-2010 11:28 PM
Leaking water line needs new water regulator? huynh Plumbing 16 11-04-2010 12:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts