Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-11-2011, 11:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Water Softener Questions :)

I inherited a home that has a softener system. The home was completely remodeled in 1989. New everything. When my Grandmother moved back in after the remodel she put the new softener into service. Within one year she decided to go out and turn the bypass valve because she saw her water bill explode. It probably did because I just figured out that she had the machine set to the max and it was constantly running LOL!

Anyways, I am totally new to the design and functions of a softener system like the one here. I have spent the last five days trying to get it to run and the last three days on the internet learning about softeners. This softener was taken out of service in 1990 and has sat ever since.

It is a Fleck 5600 12 day metered control valve. It sits on an 8" X 48" (approx) sized tank. The power supply that is under the house probably burned out years ago so I hooked up the timer motor temporarily with another transformer. There is also a brine tank.... yes, it too had the same water/salt from 1990. I cleaned the brine tank today.

The control valve was totally frozen so I took it apart and the seals and rubbers are wasted. I put it all back together and got the knob to turn a little bit and then I used pliers to turn it. It leaks and is frozen and I am not going to deal with it. I have decided to just replace the valve with a newer 5600sxt digital.

When I removed the valve from the tank today I gently pulled the pvc pipe out too. The cone shaped thing at the bottom was broken. I think it was broken by the people that installed it because Grandma used to complain about how the faucet aerators would clog up with sand and sand in the toilet tank. I didnt realize until today that it was the material inside the mineral tank that was clogging the faucets.