DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Plumbing (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/)
-   -   water softener opinions (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/water-softener-opinions-136933/)

scuts 03-13-2012 03:20 PM

water softener opinions
 
we are moving to a new house and will be on well water. decided to have the well tested and the results were


hardness 5 gpg
iron .5 mg/l
ph 6.2
tds 62 mg/l

They recommended a water softer for a price of 2300.00

To me the numbers are borderline across the board. The well was dug / drilled last summer and has been used very little since.

thoughts?

Akpsdvan 03-13-2012 04:01 PM

If the well can handle it, I would run the water out a hose at 4gpm for at least 48 hours with out turning it off and then testing the water again.

Bob999 03-13-2012 06:16 PM

Agree with the recommendation to flush the well and then retest the hardness and iron.

If you have copper plumbing the pH needs to be treated--otherwise you will be replacing copper pipes with pin hole leaks in a few years. Flushing is unlikely to change the pH.

The hardness and TDS numbers don't make sense. 5 grains of hardness equals (5 x 17.1 ppm) a TDS of 86 for the hardness alone. Any other dissolved matter would further increase the TDS.

Nailbags 03-13-2012 07:08 PM

I live on a well a artisan well and I have hard water but I can't stand the salty slimy feel I got with a water softener. So I just don't soften my water and the side effects are Not a lot of suds don't lather up in the shower. Calcium deposits and the most noticed difference is great tasting water not slime feeling

Andy CWS 03-13-2012 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nailbags (Post 876970)
I live on a well a artisan well and I have hard water but I can't stand the salty slimy feel I got with a water softener. So I just don't soften my water and the side effects are Not a lot of suds don't lather up in the shower. Calcium deposits and the most noticed difference is great tasting water not slime feeling

If your softener produces salty water then it is not working or set up properly. That feeling with the softener is clean skin.

plummen 03-13-2012 10:28 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This is my prefered method for dealing with most water issues on customers houses :)

scuts 03-17-2012 08:19 PM

details on that filter? We also just tested positive for bacteria. Its a 300ft rock well. I was told to pour 3 gallons of clorox down the vent hole and run the hose until I smelled bleach. I ran ot for 7 mins and never smelled it. Should I add more bleach?

plummen 03-18-2012 01:27 AM

Theres differant cartridges/filters for differant water issues.
Id have the water checked and find out what it is thats actually in there first :)

Ravenworks 03-18-2012 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by plummen (Post 877127)
This is my prefered method for dealing with most water issues on customers houses :)

That filter makes my water crystal clear and it taste great,I like the fact that there are not things floating around in my water after the ice melts.

Nailbags 03-18-2012 11:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy CWS (Post 877087)
If your softener produces salty water then it is not working or set up properly. That feeling with the softener is clean skin.

I have lived in the Intermountain west were Hard water is HARD WATER! no were else in the USA has harder water then Utah, Idaho. and every water soften I have used tastes slimy salty and is nasty. I love regular water non salty junk.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved