Water Softener Leak - How Do I Set It To Bypass? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2008, 11:58 AM   #1
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Water softener leak - how do I set it to bypass?

I just moved into this new house and ever since I turned the main water line on (it was a foreclosure), the water softener has been leaking a lot of water. The water is leaking from the base of the unit. Its not leaking from the hoses or from the salt bin. I took a picture of it: http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg160/cylanth/leak1.jpg

It is a Hague Water Softener Pro, roughly 8 years old.

I even turned it off last week, and its still leaking water daily.

If this is a simple fix, please let me know. If its a major problem, I would settle for just knowing how to set it so that the water softener is bypassed. Heres the back of the unit:

I would like to know how to bypass the water. There is no bypass lever on the pipe leading into the water softener, except for the main water supply valve. Obviously, I dont want to shut off my entire water supply, just the water softener.

Here is a picture of the top of the softener: http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg160/cylanth/leak2.jpg

I dont see any bypass switch, but I am not familiar with water softeners.

Any ideas on how to bypass it?


Cylanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 02:26 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500

I'm no water softener pro, just a long-time DIYer.
The bypass valve may not necessarily be a lever. It may slide from side to side an inch or so to bypass the softener.
See if you can't shift something from side to side to bypass it.
Good luck!


Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 05:16 PM   #3
I blame ProWallGuy
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150

Contact the manufacturer for an owner's manual.

Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 03:03 PM   #4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Thanks for the information

Contact the manufacturer for an owner's manual.


Thanks for the information.. I went to the Hague Water site and thought this page may be of help too:http://www.haguewater.com/water-softeners

Last edited by Colleen12; 07-21-2010 at 03:05 PM.
Colleen12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 09:24 PM   #5
lloydb's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75

I can't see your pictures but if you shut the water off, you could just cut the lines and connect them to each other and bypass it for good.
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fleck Water Softener not softening & too much water in brine tank april66 Plumbing 2 02-01-2010 11:12 AM
Water Leak Detection AppleMac*Fit Plumbing 16 12-29-2008 06:30 AM
Leak on gas heater water line? darsunt Plumbing 3 04-16-2008 03:57 PM
Water softener entry point? tigerbalm2424 Plumbing 4 09-06-2007 03:50 PM
Hot water heater leak? ddasher8 Plumbing 1 07-03-2005 05:00 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1