Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2013, 05:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

water softener issues


i have a whes30 whirlpool water softener and i noticed that it was half full of water ,so i cleaned the ventura and did what the troubleshooting guide said and regenerated two or three times and water level did'nt move,any sugestions?or maybe why its not going down.thanks

wiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:34 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


Sounds like it may be an issue with a "salt bridge" where it just becomes basically a brick and keeps the water from draining.. Siphon the water out and see if maybe that is the case.. It could also be the resin bed has gone bad.

justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

water softener issues


Ya thanks for the info however i did fail to mention that i did all the cleaning of venturi and brine valve and everything else the book said to do so i think i will just go get a new one cause this one is bout ten yrs old.and also did backflush, rinse regen, im thinking its in timer system im fed up with it anyway.

Last edited by wiredude; 03-22-2013 at 07:52 AM.
wiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 128
Default

water softener issues


Did you check the float mechanism in the brine tank to see if it's operating properly?
Also, it could be a bad gasket. There is a rotating disk and several rubber seals in the control head that go bad over time. Parts are usually still available for a repair.
kb3ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

water softener issues


yes i did check the float system and all is good ther, but as far as the top there are no leaks that i can see the float valve does pump water out of tank when i go thru the cleaning cycle but not when i do a man regen. it just fills tank with water.maybe i will go thru valve assembly on timer and clean it and see what happens.

Last edited by wiredude; 03-22-2013 at 08:13 AM.
wiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:11 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


I would definitely look into a prefilter if you are going to replace the softner.. I know I just changed the bag on mine and I can imagine if that stuff had made it to the softner it would have clogged it up pretty quick.. Nasty nasty stuff in that bag.. I can post a picture if you would like but it may ruin your appetite
justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

water softener issues


thanks i do have a pre filter and your right it would have been a site to see cause i have to change filter once a month if not three weeks it starts to slow down,well i took the timer assembly off and goin to try and clean it all up,and replace some parts if needed.i will post the outcome
wiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


This is my bag after 7 months.. It should last roughly a year depending on how dirty the water is..
Attached Thumbnails
water softener issues-photo-9-.jpg  
justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:17 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


This is my bag after 7 months.. It should last roughly a year depending on how dirty the water is but I'm glad this stuff isn't making it to my softener because it would be clogged by now.
justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 03:54 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

water softener issues


wow, that bag is nasty kinda looks like my hole house filter, it gets all dark orange like that too, well my cleaning job did'nt uncover anything and it still dont work so im thinking that the resin tank is not doing what its supposed to do,im just going to get a new one,this one is 12 yrs old anyway,so its off to lowes
wiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:20 AM   #11
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 716
Default

water softener issues


Nice to see that the consumer is not dead and that corp america will be making money today.
Sears, GE, Polar Star and WH are all the same unit with a few out side changes.

As for the bag filter? really one thinks that is bad?
What micron?
What Iron level?
What daily water usage?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:10 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


That bag isn't horrible, although it is gross.. The bag is rated 1 micron absolute ..Iron level very low.. Don't remember the actual test results, 36 gallons a day until it warms up and I kick the sprinklers on
justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:44 PM   #13
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 716
Default

water softener issues


Why 1 micron absolute?
What was the pressure difference between the in and out when the bag was changed?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:50 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Default

water softener issues


DP was about 6-7 when i changed the bag.. 1 micron because the tighter the better with a simple application like home water. It might not make sense to filter that tight on a cartridge because of the small surface area
justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:54 PM   #15
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 716
Default

water softener issues


A Pleated filter would have more surface area than the bag.
Only 7psi lose for the change? why not 15psi drop?

Ever seen sand come from your well?

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Quality - Filter / Softener needed? fackert61 Plumbing 3 06-30-2012 05:09 PM
Water heater solutions to get hot water in timely manner daluu Plumbing 22 05-07-2012 08:44 PM
Installing a Water Softener amorak Plumbing 3 05-04-2012 10:56 PM
Leaking water line needs new water regulator? huynh Plumbing 16 11-04-2010 11:32 AM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 08:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.