Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 09:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

water softener issue


I did a basement remodel last year. Took out the existing bathroom and made it into a mech room. Problem is now after moving the water softener to this room, I am not getting soft water. I filled it up with salt and it is still full(prob 3 months ago)? I called Kenmore and they said to clean this and that, then "recharge now", did that, still not softening the water. Any ideas what is happening or not happening with this? Thanks-Brad

BULLMN11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,769
Rewards Points: 2,676
Default

water softener issue


Wrong forum, perhaps one of the Mods will move it soon to the Plumbing forum.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:25 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,942
Rewards Points: 3,554
Default

water softener issue


Moved to plumbing forum.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:53 AM   #4
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 746
Rewards Points: 522
Default

water softener issue


Double check that you have the in on the in and the out on the out.

Double check that the bypass is open and water it flowing through the unit.

The unit should have some thing in the read out that shows the water flow, if it is flashing while water is flowing then the meter is counting, if not then the meter is hung up with some thing and needs to be cleared out so that it can turn, no turn no counting of water flow.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 12:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

water softener issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Akpsdvan View Post
Double check that you have the in on the in and the out on the out.

Double check that the bypass is open and water it flowing through the unit.

The unit should have some thing in the read out that shows the water flow, if it is flashing while water is flowing then the meter is counting, if not then the meter is hung up with some thing and needs to be cleared out so that it can turn, no turn no counting of water flow.
I did the water test you are describing with a Kenmore rep. Water is being counted. Bypass is open.
BULLMN11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time home owner furnace/hot water issue rjohnson84 Plumbing 17 12-20-2010 11:40 PM
Solar hot water indatom123 Green Home Improvement 0 12-19-2010 01:01 AM
Water softener no longer softening water grandmajo Plumbing 3 01-19-2009 07:42 AM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 09:09 AM
Is this a viable solution for a water softener? imola ghost Plumbing 1 12-23-2008 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.