Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2013, 08:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

Water softener installation


I just got my water tested and it scored a 10gpg. I went out and bought a kenmore 300 series water softener. I have a weird water setup in our house.

The water meter is located in our basement about level with the water softener. In the manual is says to locate the water softener as close as the main water line as possible. I would rather have the outside water spouts remain on hard water, but it would probably be expensive with the added addition of copper piping.

Would I have to relocate the water meter? If I can, can I legally do it on my own or does the water company have to move it? The closest drain is about 15ft away. Also is it ok to drain to the sump pump? Im guessing the salt would kill the grass and ruin the pump as well. If you guys could steer me in the right direction I would be grateful. Thanks

Also, just ignore the downspout on the main water line. Some how it passed inspection lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Water softener installation-20130928_083741.jpg   Water softener installation-20130928_084011.jpg  

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 09:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,424
Default

Water softener installation


what is the before meter, top or bottom ? doesn't matter. just 90deg in and out from after the meter .

Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 09:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,424
Default

Water softener installation


here is mine
Attached Thumbnails
Water softener installation-img_2169.jpg   Water softener installation-img_2168.jpg  
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 09:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 165
Default

Water softener installation


I guess I made it more complicated then I thought lol. So from the main water line to the "in" then "out" goes back to the main water line. Im assuming you don't use lead solder correct?

Nice job on your install. Have any suggestions for a drain that is 15ft away? I guess I could just run a long drain hose. Just going for a nice installation.

Last edited by word2yamutha; 09-28-2013 at 10:03 AM.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

Water softener installation


I'm unsure what "So from the main water line to the 'in' then 'out' goes back to the main water line." could possibly mean.

Very confusing.

After your meter, but before the softener, solder in a "T" fitting. Off the "T" solder in a 1/4 turn full port valve, and plumb that line to your outdoor sillcocks.
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 165
Default

Water softener installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyalAcresRod View Post
I'm unsure what "So from the main water line to the 'in' then 'out' goes back to the main water line." could possibly mean.

Very confusing.

After your meter, but before the softener, solder in a "T" fitting. Off the "T" solder in a 1/4 turn full port valve, and plumb that line to your outdoor sillcocks.
The "in" and "out" is referring to the bypass valve. Thats how there labeled on mine. If copper was cheaper I would probably install those lines for the ourdoor sillcocks. I dont really water much outside anyways. Its probably a good idea though to install a t-valve and put a cap on it just in case I change my mind though.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:01 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

Water softener installation


Re-plumb the outside with PEX
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 165
Default

Water softener installation


Would it be possible to tie the drain from the water softener into an existing drain such as a bathtub?

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back flushing a water line. woodywoodwick Plumbing 5 10-18-2012 04:10 PM
water smells Culligan water softener brianksca Plumbing 1 09-01-2012 07:29 PM
Water Softener Drainage Problem hodge23 Plumbing 3 09-26-2011 04:40 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.