Water Softener Being Bypassed - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 12:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


My water softener is being bypassed. The valve is not in the bypass position, but the water level hasn't changed in a week, and I noticed the hardness of the water throughout the house has increased. I know we have a significant amount of iron in our water. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:27 PM   #2
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLV2010 View Post
My water softener is being bypassed. The valve is not in the bypass position, but the water level hasn't changed in a week, and I noticed the hardness of the water throughout the house has increased. I know we have a significant amount of iron in our water. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
The softener is in bypass, but the valve is not in bypass position?

What water level has not changed in a week?

Advertisement

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


I think it's in bypass because my plumbing is working fine, no change in water pressure or anything, but the water level in the water softener tank hasn't moved. It's stagnant.
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:49 PM   #4
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLV2010 View Post
I think it's in bypass because my plumbing is working fine, no change in water pressure or anything, but the water level in the water softener tank hasn't moved. It's stagnant.
If there is a meter on the unit that counts down to regen the unit, then if the system is in bypass then it will not clean or regen and any water in the brine tank or salt tank will not move out.
Now if it is a sears , ge , polar star unit and there is water in the tank where the salt is at , then you have a challenge with either the venturie or one of the seals in the valve body.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


It is a GE. What valve are you referring too? How is the bad venturie or seal causing it to bypass the tank?
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 01:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


my apologies. It is a Kenmore. So should I be checking the meter then? For some reason it's not regenerating?
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 01:27 PM   #7
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


On the display there most likely would be some showing of the water flow by a flashing icon.
That is if the bypass is open in that the water is going through the softener.
Do you have the manual for the system?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 01:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


yes, the display shows water flowing, but nothing is going through the softener. I'm not sure if I have the manual. I'll have to check this evening when I get home.
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 01:59 PM   #9
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


If the icon is flashing then there is water going through the softener.
The only way that the icon will flash is because water is going through the system and then through the turbin on the out line.

Now if there is water in the salt tank then the injector or venturie is plugged and it can not pull the brine or salt water out of the tank.. by not pulling the brine out it can not recharge the media for the next round of say 1000 gallons or what ever gallon count the unit has for the hardness setting that you have for the size of the unit.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:07 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 434
Rewards Points: 334
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


first things first, is there salt in the tank? there will always be a small amount of water/brine solution at the bottom of the tank but you wouldn't normally see this if you have enough salt. the flow meter is indicating flow, so water is flowing through the softener but obviously it is either not recharging properly or trying to recharge just fine but since there is no salt in the tank it is doing nothing.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:18 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


There is salt in the tank, but very little. The level is near the bottom and the water level is just above that. The water is at about a "3" on the level indicator. The salt probably at about a "2". Neither level has moved in about a week or so. So if water is running through, but it's not recharging, am I looking for a plugged line or valve somewhere?
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:23 PM   #12
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLV2010 View Post
There is salt in the tank, but very little. The level is near the bottom and the water level is just above that. The water is at about a "3" on the level indicator. The salt probably at about a "2". Neither level has moved in about a week or so. So if water is running through, but it's not recharging, am I looking for a plugged line or valve somewhere?
If water is passing through the system and the meter is working by flashing icon , the unit is most likely going through a regen cycle at the 2am point when the gallons have been used.
Now if the salt level has not changed and there is that much water in the salt tank then yes most likely the problem lies with the ventrie plugged.
It can not get the suction going to pull the brine water out of the tank to run through the media to recharge the media.
As it has been stated, sears type units have very little water in the salt tank between regen cycles.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 03:40 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


okay, than I am going to find manual, locate ventrie, and see if I can figure this out. Thanks for the input! Much obliged.
MikeLV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:07 PM   #14
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 752
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Water Softener being bypassed


Let us know if there is any thing else that we can help on.

Advertisement

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water heater drip kdange1 Plumbing 6 10-29-2014 06:26 PM
Buying a home - water softener advice needed before closing Hoops Plumbing 4 11-02-2011 09:40 AM
Solar hot water indatom123 Green Home Improvement 0 12-19-2010 01:01 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 03:18 PM
Went to city water - softener still needed? uncleslam General DIY Discussions 5 11-15-2009 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts