Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-31-2009, 06:08 PM   #1

Share |

water heater problem

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie so bear with me.
I have a gas (propane) water heater and once a year, around fall my hot water from my sink or shower gets a bad oder from the hot side of sink or shower faucet. Not noticable on the cold side. I've traced this back to the hot water heater.It smells bad in the tank.I am on well water and a few people have told me its the well water turning over?(what does this mean?) One guy said it does this in the spring and fall and that you would notice the oder when it does this. I have drained the tank and cleaned the anode rod in the tank, still smells bad.Should I and how would I clean the inside of the tank? Has anyone heard of this, and what can i do to make it smell better? We dont drink the water but we wash clothes and take showers in it. Also we have a water softener and an in line filter that I change about every other month. Oh yeah, the water heater is 3 years old.

Last edited by ssikguitar; 08-31-2009 at 06:11 PM.
ssikguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 06:08 AM   #2

water heater problem

Often, odors are caused by the wrong type material on the anode rod, but that is normally constant, either not a problem or always bad. Not sure about only occasionally bad. Well water is subject to the ups/downs of mother nature, but the deeper the well the fewer problems. How deep is your well??.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:34 AM   #3

water heater problem