Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-05-2011, 11:36 AM   #1

Share |

Water Heater Mix Valve

Hi all,

I have a quick question about my mixing valve. This is an 80gal electric heater. This is my first time with electric and PEX. I've replaced a gas unit before and done some solder work so plumbing isn't completely new to me.

The water temp at the faucet is barely more than warm. How exactly do I adjust this thing?

The blue cap just free wheels. It pops off to reveal the triangle shape beneath. I assume I would turn this in to lessen the amount of cold water that gets mixed in. Is there a special tool to do it? I actually just had the brain storm that I could probably use a 6pt socket. Yes?

While I've got your ear... This heater and the AC are in the attic above the 2nd story. 20 yrs down the road (hopefully that long) when they go bad, how does one get them out and a new one in? There's a ladder access which is a good size but it's not going to fit an 80gal heater or AC unit up there. Take apart the roof? Take off some siding?

Thanks!
-djr
Attached Thumbnails
Water Heater Mix Valve-p1050819-1.jpg   Water Heater Mix Valve-p1050820-1.jpg   Water Heater Mix Valve-p1050821-1.jpg  

djrussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:23 PM   #2

Water Heater Mix Valve

I have never installed one of these but i would use a socket i have a tool for street main shut off that looks similar. and to get one out you would cut the access out.

plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:40 PM   #3
DIY staff

Water Heater Mix Valve

I've never heard of a mixing valve on a water heater----so lets see what that really is---

There are some qualified old pros here-some one will recognize that valve---

Could you take an over all picture of the heater set up?