Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-26-2014, 03:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Washing machine overhead drainage

Hey guys. First post. I just purchased a home and have stumbled upon my newest dilemma which is in regards to the current set up they have for the washing machine drainage. I have attached some pictures. They left the washer and dryer behind when they sold the house to me. Their current set-up is simply a drainage line that exits the back of the washer loops around on the floor and extends vertically about 8 feet and dumps directly into the main drainage pipe. I have septic. Any thoughts? It looks inherently wrong to me. I have no experience regarding plumbling. But I just dont see this set-up as being very appropriate from the common sense stand point. Thanks for any thoughts!
Attached Thumbnails
Washing machine overhead drainage-img_1048.jpg   Washing machine overhead drainage-img_1049.jpg  

AndrewWNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 03:57 PM   #2
Retired Army Veteran

Rewards Points: 1,164

I agree, it does look kind of strange. Can you post another pic where it dumps into main drain. Thanks.

The reason i ask is because if there is no trap, you will have sewer gas coming back into the living area.

jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:05 PM   #3

Sure. I'm at work and I'll snap a close up photo as soon as I get home. I keep reading about traps and "p" drains and standpipes and vents for gas's. And this set-up definitely doesn't have any of these as I see. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to AndrewWNY For This Useful Post:
jmon (03-26-2014)
Old 03-26-2014, 06:50 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,280

Amazing!! Another house bought without a presale inspection. Also plumbed by I can glue pipe so I am a plumber. You have Black glued to White Bad sign.... Tee on it's side picking up something.