Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-17-2006, 09:25 AM   #1

Share |

To vent or not to vent?

Adding a second floor to my house. There will be a half-bath on that level. The toilet and sink will be about 18 feet from the existing 3 inch pipe that goes vertically from the basement and up through the roof (main floor toilet and fixtures all connect to this pipe). Question is...can I simply run the toilet and sink drains horizontally and tie in where that 3" pipe passes through the new 2nd floor? If not, what venting arrangement should I have for this new bathroom? Does this arrangement require a separate pipe through the roof, or is there a way (is it ok) to connect to the existing vent in the attic? Thanks a ton!!

sootybuttercup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 09:41 PM   #2
A Builder & Plumber

To vent or not to vent?

I am a licensed master plumber.
I believe I answered your question in another forum you posted in. I can not copy the link or copy and paste the post, so I'l try to re write it
You can not run 18 feet with the pipe horizontal because you will kill the vent, every trap and trapped fixture needs a vent which can be achieved in any number of ways,
1) Air admittance valve
2) Wet venting
3) Direct vent