Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-29-2013, 03:10 PM   #1

Share |

Underground gas run

I am getting ready to run a gas line for an outdoor natural gas fire pit.
The inspector said I am allowed to do the work on my area as the homeowner and I can either run black pipe and coat anything touching dirt or run polyethelene.
I understand that polyethelene is better suited for burial, so that would be my preference.
I am an engineer and understand how to calculate required pipe size. I also have done a fair amount of gas work using black iron pipe.

How does one make polyethylene connections?
Researching this is difficult as it's not normally a DIY project.
While making a reply please keep in mind this is a DIY site.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:28 PM   #2

Underground gas run

In order to purchase/install any poly for gas you have to be a certified installer mandated by the maufacturer. the only way you will be able to do it is if you run black pipe to code for an underground application..
Peppe1019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:06 PM   #3

Underground gas run

Maybe some vendors won't sell. It won't be super easy for me to get, and maybe impossible locally, but it is not illegal to sell to someone without a license.
People say the same thing about csst which is available at Lowes.
Old 08-29-2013, 04:17 PM   #4

Underground gas run

That may very well be but will the inspector want proof of certification? I would doubleccheck first.. As far as the connections it depends on the manfacturer they all differ..
Peppe1019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:20 PM   #5

Underground gas run