Tub And Shower Fixture Replacement - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
Noob w/ more experience

Rewards Points: 25

Tub and shower fixture replacement

Hello everyone,
I am remodeling the bathroom and have the tub area down to the studs, and I want to replace the shower fixtures. Excuse me as I do not know any of the terminology. The part that I am having trouble with is removing the old plumbing where you turn the water on. There is a pipe there that looks like a plus sign, and I have the same one in the kit that I bought. The one in the kit that I bought is threaded, but the one currently hooked up looks like it was sodered together. Once I take this off, do I need to soder a threaded end piece on the current piping to hook it up? This is my first attempt at plumbing except for hooking up some faucets and it does not intimidate me and I feel comfortable sodering. Can I take on this task or should I call a plumber? If it is easy enough to do myself then I would rather take it on than spend the money.

Advertisement

golfer2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:14 AM   #2
master plumber

Rewards Points: 10

hello golfer.if you feel comfortable solider'en we can do it! first turn off the water!!! open a hose bib and a lavitory faucet. so water can drain out. oben the old tub valve . now look at it .do you need to go to the supply house an get some copper male adapters. some pipe dope.you got a torch. flux.solider.a heat shield , so you dont burn the house down?

Advertisement

frodo601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:32 AM   #3
master plumber