DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Tub hot water does not Flow at all (details enclosed)

3K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  butlersprints 
#1 ·
Hopefully someone can help me. The hot water knob for the tub didn't work this morning. No water came out, not even a noise. The cold water knob lets cold water come out fine. There are three knobs on the tub, one cold one hot, and a center knob to let water into the shower. All other bathrooms in the house work fine, both hot and cold, kitchen as well.

I read something about balanced pressure and let the cold water run for about 2 minutes in the kitchen sink, tub water still not working.

The boiler (is newer) and seems to be working fine in other areas of the house. No valves had been manually closed since this has happened. However the outside temp did drop to around -5, but the house maintained around 50-60.

I read somewhere that a gasket may be clogged, but I have no real plumbing experience. Any troubleshooting ideas would be greatly appreciated, and I promise to post back when the solution is found-as I have found other posts with this problem, yet the posting suddenly ends. Hopefully there's no spontaneous combustion associated here.

Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
Hopefully someone can help me. The hot water knob for the tub didn't work this morning. No water came out, not even a noise. The cold water knob lets cold water come out fine. There are three knobs on the tub, one cold one hot, and a center knob to let water into the shower. All other bathrooms in the house work fine, both hot and cold, kitchen as well.

I read something about balanced pressure and let the cold water run for about 2 minutes in the kitchen sink, tub water still not working.

The boiler (is newer) and seems to be working fine in other areas of the house. No valves had been manually closed since this has happened. However the outside temp did drop to around -5, but the house maintained around 50-60.