Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2011, 03:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Trying to level a bathtub! Please help!

Hi I am new to bathroom renovations so I am not sure what to do here. We live in an older home with wood floors that are not level. I am renovating our bathroom and I am trying to reinstall the tub but I cannot get it level. The floors are out a fair bit in this house. The tub is fibreglass and the feet on the tub are not cut straight. I am not sure if the feet are supposed to be cut on an angle or if someone modified them prior. Either way I am having a lot of trouble getting it level. If I get it level front to back it's out side to side and vice versa. I am not sure if I should pour a self levelling concrete and cut the legs straight or what I should do. I am also wondering if I need to install a new sub floor first. The sub is 5/8 plywood but its old. Any help/advice would be great.

Thanks,

Lost (Michael)

dukester544600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:47 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukester544600 View Post
Hi I am new to bathroom renovations so I am not sure what to do here. We live in an older home with wood floors that are not level. I am renovating our bathroom and I am trying to reinstall the tub but I cannot get it level. The floors are out a fair bit in this house. The tub is fibreglass and the feet on the tub are not cut straight. I am not sure if the feet are supposed to be cut on an angle or if someone modified them prior. Either way I am having a lot of trouble getting it level. If I get it level front to back it's out side to side and vice versa. I am not sure if I should pour a self levelling concrete and cut the legs straight or what I should do. I am also wondering if I need to install a new sub floor first. The sub is 5/8 plywood but its old. Any help/advice would be great.