Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-12-2009, 11:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Total Newb Clueless about Flapper

A toilet in my new house was running on and off, so I guessed the flapper is leaking. However, the flapper I have looks nothing like what I've found online - can someone tell me what to do to replace this thing, since the running is worse since I emptied the bowl and examined it.

Pictures attached to help you see what I'm talking about.

pryzmkess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 06:07 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

All of that is just a delay mechanism to insure the tank empties. They should be available at home/hardware stores. But others style flappers should work in its place. The adjustable Fluidmaster should work. The old one is removed by a screw or pin at the pivot point.

That is a 3+ gal/flush toilet, consider a newer 1.6 or 1.2 gal toilet. They work very well now and will save on your water bill.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 11:30 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,026

Some "generic" replacement flappers have a collar that slips over the overflow tube (top of picture as you have shown). This is part of the molded one piece flexible flapper. If the flapper fits on the existing hinge assembly without needing the collar then you would cut away the collar with scissors or pocket knife.
Old 11-13-2009, 11:41 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 10

you should also make sure its not the flush valve that's a problem. It could be the fill valve. If its an older toilet, you may wanna swap to a new fill valve while you're at it. Visit a local plumbing supplier that with photo in hand to ensure compatibility. Good luck with your toilet!
jhamlin38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 04:54 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 2,026