Toilets Running And I Can't Catch It - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


Sorry for the dry humor...

I have a basement toilet that has 1 of the "flush holes" that constantly drains water. I've replaced the fill valve and flapper, thought that solved it but it started draining again not too long after.

I just find it odd that only 1 hole drains, or is that normal?

Any suggestions on what to try next?

thanks!

Advertisement

rsplash40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:08 AM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsplash40 View Post
Sorry for the dry humor...

I have a basement toilet that has 1 of the "flush holes" that constantly drains water. I've replaced the fill valve and flapper, thought that solved it but it started draining again not too long after.

I just find it odd that only 1 hole drains, or is that normal?

Any suggestions on what to try next?

thanks!
It really isn't dry at all......

Remove flapper valve and clean flapper valve seat with scotch brite, sounds like you have buildup on the sealing surface of the FV seat.

Mark

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 09:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


Ditto on cleaning the mating surfaces at the flapper.


Is it the type with a chain on the flapper? If so, make sure there is enough slack in the chain and it is not binding intermittently.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:32 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


If you recently replaced the flapper I'm inclined to believe the issue lies in the chain length as well. One of the most common mistakes I see people make is either leaving too much slack in the chain or too little. start trouble shooting there and you'll probably have this fixed in no time.
Cheers,
ChrisFixit
ChrisFixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


May be a simple matter of adjusting the flapper itself on the overflow pipe, if it is adjustable.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:15 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 402
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


If the hose that goes into the overflow is stuck in to far it can siphon causing your toilet to phantom flush and run continuous
plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 05:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


Thanks for all the replies, I'm not in front of it right now but if my memory is right the flapper is not on a chain. I bought what was recommended by a plumber from Menards, but don't recall a chain, I did it a long time ago and just let it annoy me this long so I don't recall.

I'll try the scotch brite pad trick tonight and see if there is some gunk there.
rsplash40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 06:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 402
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


If he works at Menards he's not a plumber
plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 07:03 PM   #9
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


Quote:
Originally Posted by plumberinlaw View Post
If he works at Menards he's not a plumber
Nah, tell me it isn't so.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 10:29 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Toilets running and I can't catch it


No, it wasn't a person at menards, it was a plumber, who said go get the floatmaster part as it was the best menards sells, and I'm cheap...

So, it is hooked with a chain but I did not replace the flapper, I cleaned it and it seemed to make it worse...

Advertisement

rsplash40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Payne gas furnace - blower fan running continuously Ed40 HVAC 0 02-05-2011 03:19 PM
Shutting of running water make toilets run pete0403 Plumbing 7 01-13-2011 12:07 AM
Carrier Furance will not keep running skadera HVAC 13 01-04-2011 11:10 AM
Why is Inducer Fan Running? artbuc HVAC 3 07-31-2010 10:39 AM
Sump pump running as much as 20 times per day Shpigford Plumbing 7 06-23-2008 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts