Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-08-2012, 09:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Toilet Vent

As I understand toilets to work; they technically do not need a "vent" like other fixtures as they generally drop right down the stack and/or wye right into the main 4" drain leaving the house (which is also tied into the main stack).

Am I understanding that correctly?

I'm a DIY plumber and wondering about a basement 1/2 bath install. As I understand what the city has told me; a simple AAV will suffice for a vanity in the basement. The toilet which would be wye'd into the 4" drain leaving the house

Attached is a picture about what I've been thinking would suffice. My main concern is about the toilet having proper flushing capability.

Thank you all very much in advance, this is/has been a very useful forum for the masses!
Attached Thumbnails
Toilet Vent-bathroom-drawing.jpg  

noahrexion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 10:11 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Toilet Vent

Noah,

Up here are required to vent our toilets, usually by wet venting (venting through another fixture). What does your local authorities have to say? They are ultimately the ones who are going to pass or fail your work.

VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 10:27 PM   #3

Toilet Vent

Thanks for your reply.

I do not necessarily understand what a wet vent is necessarily. But as I think I do - would my toilet setup, as drawn, be considered a wet vent through the vanity's AAV?

The nearest vent to tie into would be about even with the stack (~13ft away). That is the vent for the basement drain - it is 1.5" galvanized. It rises to the basement ceiling (~7ft) and goes under the floor joists and shoots up somewhere into the 1st floor - which I am guessing provides a vent for the 1st floor bathroom and/or ties into the main stack up there.