Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-24-2010, 06:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Toilet Trouble

I have a toilet that won't fill up. I can turn the water line off come back a few minutes later turn it on and it will fill up, however it slowly disapears. It also sounds like it's running when I leave the water on. I have little to no experience with toilets, please help!

raven4209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 07:59 PM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Toilet Trouble

Hi and welcome. Sounds like it could have a leak or a bad flapper. What is under the toilet? a crawl space? basement?

I'd be looking under there for signs of water. Could just need a new wax ring. Is the toilet loose?

DM

Old 06-24-2010, 08:44 PM   #3
Owner

Rewards Points: 500

Toilet Trouble

Could also be something more serious.

Which toilet is it? (i.e. main floor, basement, upstairs)

Are you on sewer or septic?

Do you have a history of sewer or septic problems?
(208) 818-8241
Like us on Facebook!
LateralConcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 10:19 PM   #4
Doing it myself

Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan

Toilet Trouble

Sounds like you might have sediment in the fill valve. When you turn off the water, the sediment falls to the bottom of the fill valve. When you turn the water back on, it is slowly blown back up to the top where it clogs the rubber diaphragm.

To test this theory :

Turn off angle stop valve under toilet.

Disconnect supply on toilet tank side.

Using a small bucket, put the open end of the supply in it and crack the valve to see what kind of water flow you get from the supply.

Good flow = bad fill valve

Bad flow = problem with either supply, angle stop, or piping to the stop. Diagnose further at this point.
Old 06-24-2010, 10:29 PM   #5
Jack of all - master none

Rewards Points: 510