Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 09:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


We built 28 years ago, 3 toilets, 5 gallon old style tanks. In the last year, all three toilets have started requiring two flushes to "get the job done". All nearby fixtures are used daily, so the traps are not dry. Seem to have lots of water. Any ideas?

rickdulaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Homerepairguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 756
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickdulaney View Post
We built 28 years ago, 3 toilets, 5 gallon old style tanks. In the last year, all three toilets have started requiring two flushes to "get the job done". All nearby fixtures are used daily, so the traps are not dry. Seem to have lots of water. Any ideas?
Have you put bricks in the tanks to reduce the amount of water per flush? Or lowered the water level in the tanks by adjusting the floats? If so, the duration of filling the tanks would be shortened > shortening the duration of the water flow into the overflow tube > resulting in less than maximum water level in the bowls > resulting in poor flushing.

Or the holes in the underside of the bowl's upper rim might be partially clogged from mineral build up over the years. If so, poke them clear using a metal coat hanger.

See post #4 in this thread for a more through explanation:

Toilet flush issue.

HRG

Homerepairguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Homerepairguy For This Useful Post:
plummen (04-29-2012)
Old 04-29-2012, 08:21 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


Done nothing to reduce water volume, did not think about rim holes. Will check. Thanks!
rickdulaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,287
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickdulaney View Post
Done nothing to reduce water volume, did not think about rim holes. Will check. Thanks!
also check syphon hole in front bottom of commode ..this is a hole that is about 1/2 to 3/4 of and inch gets pluged ....also make sure bowl in filling back to normal height after flushing...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
Homerepairguy (04-30-2012)
Old 05-06-2012, 01:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


Since all the toilets have started acting up at once you may have a partial blockage downstream. Does the water kind of sluggishly spin around and not exit the bowl the way it did previously? Do what the other posters suggested first. Hopefully this will resolve your issue.
sanec1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sanec1 For This Useful Post:
LateralConcepts (05-09-2012)
Old 05-08-2012, 01:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East Coast of NC
Posts: 171
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanec1 View Post
Since all the toilets have started acting up at once you may have a partial blockage downstream. Does the water kind of sluggishly spin around and not exit the bowl the way it did previously? Do what the other posters suggested first. Hopefully this will resolve your issue.
I'd have to second the above. I'd guess it's safe to say that you haven't called a plumber yet...
Ed911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:11 PM   #7
Owner
 
LateralConcepts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 994
Default

Toilet requires multiple flushes


I agree with the previous posters as well. If you're suddenly noticing slow flushes in all 3 toilets, that leads me to believe there is some type of blockage in the building drain or building sewer (the 4" line that carries waste from everything in the house to the city sewer or onsite septic system).

Are you on city sewer or septic? If you're on septic, when was the last time you had the tank pumped and inspected?

__________________
Brad Penske, Operations Manager - Coeur d'Alene, ID
Lateral
CONCEPTS, LLC - Sewer & Septic Line - Video Inspection, Locating, Consulting
(208) 818-8241
Like us on Facebook!
LateralConcepts is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
toilet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i tell what size "rough in" my current toilet is? liverlipsyyz Plumbing 12 07-20-2012 01:39 PM
Toilet leaks? but not really? gunrock Plumbing 3 04-22-2010 05:20 PM
Bubbles In Toilet Tank JCNimmo Plumbing 2 01-29-2010 08:11 AM
Basement Toilet Rough In - Help atm Plumbing 3 06-06-2009 11:04 AM
Toilet install - 2 questions BataviaJim Plumbing 11 05-11-2009 01:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.