Toilet Question - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-10-2009, 10:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Toilet question

Hello all, I am a newbie here and ran across this great site. I figured this would be the place to get the right answers for my problems---I am going to thank you in advance.
I am looking for some opinions on a problem I had at our new home(less than 3 months old).
One my young kids must have put too much toilet paper in the upstairs toilet. He flushed it, walked away and came downstairs.
About 30 minutes later my wife was working on the computer in the room directly below the bathroom when water started coming off of the ceiling.
Of course panic and mayhem was next. I ran upstairs to the bathroom and water was 2 inches deep on the bathroom floor and water was flowing into the two adjacent bedrooms.
The toilet bowl must have already cleared itself of the clog. The top of the bowl rim was wet with water. Water was still running into the tank and into the bowl and out the drain. I lifted the lid off of the tank and found that the flapper valve was hanging up on the float. I jiggled the float and the flapper valve fell to its seat.
The next day the plumbing company that installed the toilet for the builder came over to check it out. I showed them what had happened, and they saw the flapper hang up on the float. They made a "slight adjustment" to the float.
Now the plumbing company is denying a problem because they dont want to take responsability, Their explanation for the flapper not sealing is this: "If the water closet bowl is stopped up, the bowl will fill with water to the rim, the tank can not empty the stored water in order to let the flapper valve drop and stop the flow of water".
How can a stopped up toilet with water to the rim cause the flapper not to seal?????????? The tank is higher than the bowl.