Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-25-2012, 11:26 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Toilet Issue

I have a basic no-frills toilet that has a slow leak at the flapper valve in the tank. I've replaced the rubber flapper 3 times yet I still hear it leaking. This has been ongoing for about 6 years. It's been a low priority since it causes no damage but with the economy as it is I'd rather it didn't leak. I have a well so when water runs so does my electricity. Does anyone have a suggestion that would stop this leak without any great expense? Thanks!

RonS1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 2

Toilet Issue

I'm no expert, but the first (cheapest) thing I would do is to turn off the water supply, drain the tank, and scrub the area with CLR or something similar. Sometimes, especially with well water you can get a build up in the area that can cause the flapper not to seal well.

Last edited by Blondesense; 04-25-2012 at 12:11 PM.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:44 AM   #3

Toilet Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blondesense
I'm no expert, but the first (cheapest) thing I would do is to turn off the water supply, drain the tank, and scrub the area with CLR or something similar. Sometimes, especially with well water you can get a build up in the area that can cause the flapper not to seal well.
I've tried that, too. I'm told by the wonderful experienced folks at Lowe's that the only sure cure is to replace the gadget that links the tank to the bowl with another new flapper. I'm trying hard to avoid the mess.
Old 04-26-2012, 11:02 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 96

Toilet Issue

http://www.fluidmaster.com/our-produ...epair-kit.html
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:19 AM   #5

Toilet Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
That's interesting. Thanks.