Toilet Flushes Twice - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2014, 10:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


All of the sudden my toilet began flushing twice per flush. I just replaced the flapper just before this started. I tried replacing the lever arm that pulls the flapper - no luck. I tried adjusting the fill level to a lower setting - no luck. The flapper isn't going down in time. It's almost as if the flapper isn't heavy enough. Anyone ever had this issue? I did a search on here and couldn't find any related topics. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Advertisement

slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:19 AM   #2
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,747
Rewards Points: 1,340
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Try a different setting on the chain. Maybe just needs tweaking a little.

Advertisement

jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
landfillwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: WNY
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 242
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


What type of flapper did you use? The flapper may not be set close enough to the seat (inside the toilet) to close.
landfillwizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:29 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmon
Try a different setting on the chain. Maybe just needs tweaking a little.
I tried both lengthening and shortening the chain - still no luck. I even put a fishing weight on the flapper to help close it faster. That didn't work either.
slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:30 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by landfillwizard
What type of flapper did you use? The flapper may not be set close enough to the seat (inside the toilet) to close.
I just got one of the black universal flappers. The one that came out was red. I might pick up a different one today just to rule it out.
slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to slappydan For This Useful Post:
jmon (04-24-2014)
Old 04-24-2014, 11:46 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 3,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Lower the water level in the tank.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Bob Sanders (04-27-2014)
Old 04-24-2014, 12:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,184
Rewards Points: 1,624
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Disconnect the chain from the arm and flush by manually lifting on the chain and let gravity do its thing. If that works the flush lever is binding.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 12:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,447
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by slappydan
I just got one of the black universal flappers. The one that came out was red. I might pick up a different one today just to rule it out.
You need a water saving flapper. Fluidmaster has one that you can dial up or down to change the flush duration.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
jmon (04-24-2014)
Old 04-24-2014, 02:14 PM   #9
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,462
Rewards Points: 712
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Better to have it flush twice you removed the 1.5 and replaced it with a 3.0 i myself have all my toilet dumping more water when possible i always get rid of the 1.5 and replace them with the old 3.0 especially if you have older cast iron pipes. 70 percent of the main or branch line clogs we get are a direct result of poor flushing toilets.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Javiles For This Useful Post:
jmon (04-24-2014), MTN REMODEL LLC (04-24-2014), SHR Plumber (04-24-2014)
Old 04-24-2014, 05:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,614
Rewards Points: 2,542
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


you installed the wrong flapper.....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
SHR Plumber (04-24-2014), TheEplumber (04-24-2014)
Old 04-25-2014, 01:39 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


After much troubleshooting, I've determined that it is not the flapper. When I stop the water level at the halfway point and flush, it only flushes once. The water level setting is at it's lowest point. I need a shorter cutoff mechanism (not sure what it's called).
slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:40 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by slappydan
After much troubleshooting, I've determined that it is not the flapper. When I stop the water level at the halfway point and flush, it only flushes once. The water level setting is at it's lowest point. I need a shorter cutoff mechanism (not sure what it's called).
I'm still baffled as to why this started happening out of the blue.
slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 09:12 AM   #13
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,462
Rewards Points: 712
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Its not flushing twice because there isn't enough water to flush twice,
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 09:36 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles
Its not flushing twice because there isn't enough water to flush twice,
Any idea why it IS flushing twice?
slappydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:08 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,447
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Toilet Flushes Twice


Quote:
Originally Posted by slappydan
Any idea why it IS flushing twice?
Wrong flapper. If you have another similar toilet at home, flush it and hold the handle down so the flapper stays up. You should get the same double flush.

Advertisement

__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
toilet flushes slowly pcoates Plumbing 2 01-19-2012 10:13 AM
Help me check my logic on clogged drain and overflowing toilet Southlake_Ed Plumbing 10 01-05-2010 08:52 PM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 08:12 AM
New construction, toilet flushes strange. premipet Plumbing 7 02-08-2008 10:30 PM
Toilet flushes slowly, but no visible clogs... poorboye Plumbing 4 09-13-2007 12:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts