Toilet Flush And AAV - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 08:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 150
Default

toilet flush and AAV


My basement bathroom was vented through the rim joist with at 1 1/2" copper pipe. Everything worked fine. The vent pipe was in the way of a patio door that I am going to be installing so I cut the pipe in the wall and transitioned to pvc and put in a studor vent.

Now, when I flush the toilet it fills all the way to the top, millimeters from overflowing before the vent opens and the toilet flushes. I've tried two different types of vents and its acts the same. I know a toilet should be vented with 2", and to be honest I've yet to open the wall to find out if it is only the sink next to the toilet that is vented, but I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on my problem and what I can do.

I can post pictures if anyone wants. And, before anyone says to vent through the roof---it is nearly impossible given the location of the bathroom.

Thanks for any response!

Advertisement

benleef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,122
Rewards Points: 552
Default

toilet flush and AAV


if you remove the studor vent then flush does it drain proper

Advertisement

__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 150
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydevries View Post
if you remove the studor vent then flush does it drain proper
Yes! If I remove the vent and just leave the pipe open it flushes properly. It is like the vent is opening 5 seconds too late.
benleef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,662
Rewards Points: 2,638
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by benleef View Post
Yes! If I remove the vent and just leave the pipe open it flushes properly.
tells you what you need to do...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 150
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
tells you what you need to do...ben sr
What is that? I'd rather not smell sewer gases!
benleef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:20 PM   #6
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by benleef View Post
What is that?
Put the vent through the roof, I believe is what he is referring to.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Alan For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-21-2013), joecaption (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 07:44 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,662
Rewards Points: 2,638
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by benleef View Post
What is that? I'd rather not smell sewer gases!
plumbing is done according to proper installs and codes...sometimes people make up ways to repair and alter systems to there own specs and while it may work sometimes...its not right..and at some point it will be revealed its wrong.....sorry not what you want to here..but the commode vent is to be terminated through the roof.....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 08:31 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,028
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

toilet flush and AAV


I don't know if it's technically code legal, but what is common around here, especially in really old homes, are vents that penetrate a wall and run up the outside of the house. Not pretty, but functional. I used to own a home where one bathroom was vented that way.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:57 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 150
Default

toilet flush and AAV


There may be a way I can run a pipe alongside the main stack, but it would have to run about 20 feet horizontal and then another 3 stories up--and I could probably only fit 1 1/2 inch. Will this work or do I definitely need 2" especially given the horizontal run?
benleef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:59 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toilet flush and AAV


The only time I ever use an AAV is when installing an island sink (I need special permission from inspectors to put one in) when running a vent through the roof is impossible...even then we're only allowed to use them on 1/5 occasions. A toilet would have too much water rushing down at once, with not enough air to help behind it. Without the proper sized vent, there is a chance that you will siphon the waterseal from your toilets integral trap and be smelling sewer gas anyways. Since you said millimetres from the rim, are you from Canada? It's legal to use a 1.5" vent for a toilet here.
BC Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:14 PM   #11
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Glue on an increaser and a bigger AAV
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:55 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 150
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Thanks for all the replies. I think I've found a place where I can build a pipe chase alongside my chimney. It would require building out the wall a bit in the kitchen, so I'd like to make the false wall as narrow as possible. What would be the minimum depth for 2" vent pipe (with couplings of course). Once it gets to the second floor it is inside a closet so space isn't as precious.

Thanks!
benleef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:23 PM   #13
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

toilet flush and AAV


Quote:
Originally Posted by benleef View Post
Thanks for all the replies. I think I've found a place where I can build a pipe chase alongside my chimney. It would require building out the wall a bit in the kitchen, so I'd like to make the false wall as narrow as possible. What would be the minimum depth for 2" vent pipe (with couplings of course). Once it gets to the second floor it is inside a closet so space isn't as precious.

Thanks!
A 2" fitting will usually go into a hole approximately 2-3/4" in diameter.


I'd give it a little more space than that so that it doesn't squeak and move in the chase as the air temperature changes.

Advertisement

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts