Toilet Flange Question - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-07-2013, 12:42 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Toilet flange question

hello,

I am a complete newbie to plumbing matters, so here goes:

I am preparing to tile our bathroom floor. I removed the toilet and saw that the metal flange ring was deteriorated, so I removed it too.

I know that I need to replace the flange, and I'm hoping the photos give an idea of the problem I'm seeing. The original metal flange ring (now removed) was elevated about 1/16" from the slab, and was not attached to the slab with any fasteners. My understanding is that the flange should be firmly attached to the slab. When I install the new flange I want to attach it to the slab with screws but, as I hope the photo shows, there is a gap between the pipe and the slab...the fastener holes in the new flange ring do fall atop cement, but the margin is so narrow that I'm afraid it will just bust off the concrete around the pipe anywhere I try to put a screw in.

Is there something I can fill the gap around the pipe with that will be strong enough to take screws without breaking? Would something like Durhams work for this?

Next question: In order to raise the toilet enough to accommodate the new tile I want to install another abs flange that is reduced to fit inside the existing waste pipe. I intend to run the mounting fasteners for this flange down through the fastener holes on the metal flange ring that will rest against the slab. problem is that (as I hope the photo shows) the top of the waste pipe was very roughly cut off by whoever did the original install, so that the new abs flange won't sit down squarely on the remaining portion of the original flange.