Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-25-2008, 11:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Are these pipes OK?

I'm in the process of buying an old house, and the owner has updated a lot of the plumbing. However, a lot of the work he has done is pretty shotty, IMHO. I have no experience with pluming, really, but I was wndering if these copper pipes were properly installed... if not I will raise concerns with the seller. I had a structural engineer look at the property, but I'm not even sure he looks at pipes.
Please let me know if you guys think these will be a major problem..... Thanks!

gbwillner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 12:43 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Rewards Points: 500

Are these pipes OK?

I've been a real estate broker for many years, and although I represent sellers, I always highly recommend that all buyers have everything professionally inspected before closing on a property. It is the buyers right and responsiblity. Never buy a nasty surprise if you can help it.
In all cases here, I recommend that buyers get (A) title insurance (the only thing required by lenders in most cases), (B) a licensed Pest Inspection report ($125 here by a reputable company), and (C) a licensed General Home Inspection report ($300-$450 here) of all structural and mechanical systems of the house. This would include your plumbing including the pipes (I see nothing wrong with them in the photos).
Inspections are the cheapest form of insurance. Unfortunately, there are some less than honest inspectors, particularly in the pest inspection field, so get references and check them out first.
Good Luck!
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 06:16 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 250

Are these pipes OK?