Thermocouple - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 06:30 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,177
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Thermocouple


Quote:
Originally Posted by lk00331 View Post
Yeah, I will post some pics when I get home. Unless the backflow preventer was inside the dielectric nipple then no i did not install one, which I cant imagine is too difficult of a task. I didnt install an expansion tank either. Some swear by them and others say they are not necessary so I was on the fence and needed to get this installed as going down to light the pilot light every 30 min so we had warm water was becoming quite irritating. If an expansion tank is necessary, I will add one as well. I'll get some pics up around 6.
Roger that 00331, not saying you need any of them just wanted to know if any were installed. Will look at your pics later. When you get a chance, open a hot water fixture then feel the supply line and see if it cools down. If there is no expansion tank or backflow preventer installed, then it's probably just thermo expansion your feeling as your hwh heats up. It has to go somewhere. Thanks.

Advertisement


Last edited by jmon; 07-16-2013 at 06:58 PM.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:07 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermocouple


So here are a couple of pics. Feel free to let me know if any improvements/changes need to be made. I have no problem cutting any of it out and redoing it.

Side note: When I felt the cold line when I went down to take the pictures it felt cold. Im not sure what to make of it all.
Attached Thumbnails
Thermocouple-20130716_171857_resized_1.jpg   Thermocouple-20130716_171908_resized_1.jpg  
lk00331 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lk00331 For This Useful Post:
jmon (07-16-2013)
Old 07-16-2013, 07:24 PM   #18
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,906
Rewards Points: 1,654
Default

Thermocouple


Without getting nit picking- there is nothing wrong with your install.

An expansion tank is not needed unless you have a check vale of some sort on the CW service. It could be in your meter, a PRV or check assembly, etc.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
jmon (07-16-2013), lk00331 (07-16-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot light flame won't reach thermocouple Geranium HVAC 2 10-11-2012 08:10 PM
Need help with thermocouple replacement on MC furnace YerDugliness HVAC 8 01-13-2012 07:24 PM
Thermocouple nut problem w/ gas fireplace movick724 Appliances 1 11-08-2011 03:00 AM
Thermocouple and Gas Valve dimjim HVAC 10 03-22-2011 10:05 PM
How long for the thermocouple to shut off the gas? dashworth HVAC 4 10-29-2010 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts