Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-18-2010, 08:08 PM   #1
Wire Chewer

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Tell me all about pex fittings!

I am researching a possible project I want to take on involving pex and I see all sorts of fittings such as shark bite (too good to be true?) and compression fittings. For example these seem to be another type:

http://www.pexsupply.com/HydroPEX-H0...-Tee-3726000-p

Do I need a crimper for those? It says application:heat so is the tube just heat gunned on?

Also what do stores like home depot tend to carry and what are the best fittings to look for?

When it comes to stuff like faucets and hot water heaters, do I need to buy specific ones that support pex, or would I use a pex to copper converter, or do they just screw on with tefflon tape? I'm new to the world of plumbing but I want to learn.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:10 PM   #2

This PEX fitting may be used with the stainless steel clamping system or the copper crimp ring system.

My local Lowe's carries most of the Zurn fitting and copper crimp rings. There are some valves that have PEX fittings, but the other ones you can just use an adapter.

Last edited by jerryh3; 01-18-2010 at 08:13 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:00 PM   #3

Hi Red Squirrel, Yes you should get a crimper. The heat would be to soften it a little for when you put the connecter or joints. I haven't used the pex yet, but have watched my plumber use it. He loves it.
He used it on the cold and hot water lines.
If there's a home depot near you, they usually have how to seminars on things like this. You could also call and ask to speak with they person in plumbing department. That way you can find out how much that person knows, and go when there working so they can show you what you need and you can ask them any questions you have.