Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2009, 01:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Share |
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


So I'm doing a rush rush rush job at reasearching whether or not to do a tankless or a tanked water heater... (garage flooded this morning).

I'm looking at purchasing a Titan N-180 Tankless water heater which calls for (I guess) two 220 lines for a maximum of 77amps.

specs from titantankless.com: N-180 * 18KW * 220/240volts * 77amp

Is this going to be okay for my house which only has 150amp service? There's a good change I will run hotwater, dryer, AC and possibly stove at same time... maybe.
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


I would not do it. Buy a good tank heater.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:12 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


You might post in electrical section so that a sparky (electrician) can help you better with amp load.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Question

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I would not do it. Buy a good tank heater.
Why not?
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
You might post in electrical section so that a sparky (electrician) can help you better with amp load.
Excellent idea?
So what's your opinion on tankless vs tanked?
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Quote:
Originally Posted by deeze View Post
Why not?
I think you pointed out the most obvious reasons. You would be using half your rated service with the water heater. Turn on the dryer, A/C, and stove and you may be looking at a tripped main breaker. Plus, this most likely will require three double pole breakers which could be an expensive install depending on your existing setup.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:25 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Quote:
Originally Posted by deeze View Post
Excellent idea?
So what's your opinion on tankless vs tanked?
If it were me I would go with a gas fired tankless over electric, otherwise replace the WH.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:50 PM   #8
Master Plumber Lon
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 30
Send a message via Yahoo to lonsplumbing
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Replace the tank. You will have less problems in the future and its alot cheeper.
lonsplumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:24 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Replace the WH and include a Redytemp with the installation which will allow you to have hot water instantly during regular ussage times using the onboard timer and use the push-button on-demand operation during other times. Doing so minimized our hot water waiting no matter what time of day it was.
DIY4WIFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 09:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House?


Fun DIY project...

I wanted to use the braided flex for both connections but it just didn't work out on the cold side. The bend would have been too hard.

I had to replace the shut-off valve along with the water heater. Pretty bad when the valve failed as well as the tank... it made the interim time a bit of a pain.

deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tankless water heater vs. electrical water heater? imola ghost Electrical 19 09-08-2008 02:59 PM
Water heater problem bear1957 Plumbing 23 11-01-2007 03:53 PM
Installing a tankless water heater ? bdalekid Plumbing 3 02-26-2007 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.