Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-07-2009, 08:33 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Sump Pump issue - New home owner

Hello everyone,

I am new to being a home owner and new to this forum, so please bare with me. I know not much at all about tools, home improvement, ect. Hence why I came here to post.

We just bought a house a year ago. From what I know of the history, it was an old barn converted into a home. The older gentleman we bought it from lived here for 46 years, and did a lot of the work/upgrades himself.

My g/f's dad owns a reality company and deals with plenty of this stuff, so he's been there to help along the way, but this week they all went away on vacation and I had to stay here for work related reasons.

Last night, I noticed a continuing hum coming from the basement, and it sounded like water was swooshing around with it. I figured it was the sump pump and didn't think much of it at first, as we live off a hill/bank.

A couple hours later, I heard it running still. Usually, its a quick on and off or a short run. But this hadn't stopped at all. So I went down and saw that the pump was running, but pretty much to tossing the water around in the sump. The pipe/hose on the side of the house where it is suppose to drain from didn't have any water coming out of it.

It was rather moist in the basement because the pump had seemed pretty warm from running, and it was causing the water to steam up.

The only thing I know about sump pumps is their overall purpose. That's about it. And I wasn't sure what to do last night, so I found the plug for the pump and unplugged it. Its not hardwired into the breaker box.