Sump Pump Help - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-10-2015, 03:22 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6

sump pump help

Hello everyone,
I'm A new member to this site.Although I have extensive knowledge of home plumbing through the remodeling company I work for, I have limited experience with sump pumps besides installing a few replacement pumps.The other day my pump was running every 20 seconds normally three to four times a week,then we had a hot dry spell for a few weeks,then when it finely rained the pump kicked on. but after draining the the pit the pit would refill immediately from the inlet pipe as if the pump is pumping into the inlet pipe.when I disconnected the pump and backup pump the pit level water would hold just above the inlet pipe.. the pump discharge pipe drains to a 4" PCV next to the house,I would imagine that 4" pipe connects to ?-I would hope to a main drain to the street drain. Prior to this year the pump has always worked and the only water in the pit after pumping would be the water from the weep hole in the discharge pipe. any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

evets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:12 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6,346

Maybe the pipe where it discharges to is plugged.

Run a garden hose through full blast, see if it backs up. Sometimes that may remove the blockage . if not try snaking. Just a suggestion.

Others will be along with more suggestions.

Advertisement

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:22 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,374

Our they forget to glue the 4 inch pipe.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:54 PM   #4