Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2007, 08:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is Structalite up for Tub-setting (instead of mortar?)


We have a Crane San Marcos Armorplus tub, which is Crane's answer to an Americast steel/composite type tub product.

After installation (and they had already started tiling the walls) my husband and I noticed that when you stand in the tub that there is a loud creaking and moaning and noticable flex. Since they hadn't tiled the floor yet we ran a 3 foot metal ruler through the gap under the tub and were able to go all the way to the wall for the full length of the tub--was not set in a mortar bed; tub only supported at ends.

We had a huge argument with contractor who wanted to spray in foam to "fix" the problem. We insisted the tub be pulled out and reinstalled in a mortar bed. He finally agreed.

Now they are pulling out the tub and the tile guy is giving advice to the very young-looking plumbers that they should use "Structalite" instead of a sand mortar (which is what I've read should be used.) Help! What is structalite and is it up to the task of tub setting?? I need an answer fast, if possible, because we are surrounded by fast moving burly contractors now!

House_Amuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 07:02 PM   #2
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is Structalite up for Tub-setting (instead of mortar?)


Use a mortor bed.

__________________
Fix it right the first time, so you won't have to fix it a 2nd time.

2008 Oregon Specialty Plumbing Codes
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 06:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is Structalite up for Tub-setting (instead of mortar?)


We did talk them into using mortar. Hope they used enough. They had to push the tub down a tad to get it back into position, which is what I would expect.

Now that it has been 24 hours we should be able to check it and see if it is less squeaky/more stable. Next time we are doing cast iron. This was really a pain.
House_Amuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Brick Mortar ??? kourso Building & Construction 21 11-08-2010 12:11 AM
Backerboard not in mortar -- How bad is that? House_Amuck Flooring 28 09-27-2010 10:33 PM
Is it bad to use mortar to level a floor? CB2007 Flooring 4 10-01-2008 08:38 AM
Can Structalite be used to set steel compos tub? House_Amuck Remodeling 1 03-28-2007 04:15 PM
can I reuse mortar bed ? mf915 Flooring 1 07-04-2006 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.