Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-21-2012, 10:48 AM   #1

Share |

Strange Water Heater Issues

First I am a novice at DIY. I have some capable friends who have been helping me but are stumpted. We recently purchased a water heater to replace an outdated one. After the install the water heater last on 15-17 minutes before the hot water is gone. The strange part is hot water comes out of the sink located in the same bathroom, as well as throughout the house. We have replaced the on/off cartridge in the shower, but that didn't help. Believing that the cold water was "over dilluting" the hot they reversed the direction of the water knob. So now the hot water is first and the further you turn it goes to cold. Not sure what else to try. Would like to avoid tearing anything up. Thanks for your help.

tekimj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:01 AM   #2

Depends on how old the shower is, but it could just be that the shower puts out more water and runs the WH out faster than the sinks.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:04 AM   #3

The way the post is written it's a little confusing to understand.
If you have plenty of hot water every where except the shower, is it a single handle or double handles? How new do you think it is?
The reason I ask is newer ones have an anti scald feature built in, when someone works on the plubing it's common to have knocked loose some trash inside the pipes. It's stuck in the scald control.
Every company has a differant way of removing and fixing it, but it can be done from the front side, not behind the wall.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:27 AM   #4
MarginallyQualified

Plumbers need to make a living too.
Call one.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:14 PM   #5