Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 07:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


I had a spatub put in my bathroom. It worked fine for a couple of weeks, then the jets stopped working.

If I try to turn it on, I hear a "click" but nothing happens.

It is of course very hard to see once I stick my head inside the access panel.

Ideas?

badchess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:56 PM   #2
plumbing contractor
 
PLUMBINGITALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: south carolina
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


First thing i would check would be the power source. The outlet should be gfci protected and should have a reset button on it. If it is just a reg rec it may have a gfci breaker. So just check to see if there is power. 2nd thing is to check the hose coming from the switch to turn the jets on to the top of the motor somewhere and make sure it is still hooked up.

PLUMBINGITALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


I tried resetting the socket and plugging it into another socket.

Also managed to get my head inside and take apart a junction box on top of the motor, but everything looked like it was plugged in fine.

The cord from the switch seems to be working, as without it plugged in I do not get the "click" when I try to turn it on.

Could it be some sort of defective solenoid in the box? There is a cylinder with several wires plugged into it, all is tight, but maybe some sort of internal not visible defect?

Last edited by badchess; 01-28-2009 at 06:05 AM. Reason: spelling
badchess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:07 AM   #4
plumbing contractor
 
PLUMBINGITALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: south carolina
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


The solenoid may be bad. It may be best to call the manufactor.
PLUMBINGITALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 04:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


I havent been inside a spa but I know many of them run with a vacuum motor as a blower. If you have a bad motor on a central vac or a stuck carbon brush, you will hear the relay click like you described.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:34 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


Is there a red button on the back of the motor? Usually about 1/4" diameter. If so, it's the thermal overload for the motor. Push it in, hard, if it clicks, the motor will likely start then. It's possible that this button is somewhere on the control panel as well, or if the motor has a box, it might be there.

If not, you've likely got a bad relay, broken wiring, or a bad pump motor. You'll need a meter to test. Most of the testing is done with the power off.

Some of these tubs have a float switch that will not allow the pump to start unless the water level is above the jets.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:22 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


I'll hope for a red button. It is pretty tight, but I can jam myself in there as long as I don't breath too deeply. So tonight I'll wedge myself in there with a flashlight and mirror and take another look.

I left a message with the manufacter too (Aqua glass I think). It should be under warranty, but I doubt I can dig up a reciept to prove it.
badchess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 10:10 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


Before you stand on your head and get stuck , pull out the owners manual. If it shows a picture of the pump it should identify your reset location. If not hit the website
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 06:46 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


No red button.

The person who installed it never gave us any documentation with it.

The manufacturer (Aqua spa) does not seem to want to return calls or e-mails.

It has a five year warranty, but if they won't do anything aside from complaining to the bbb not much I can do on that front.
badchess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 01:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

spa tub motor doesn't work, just "clicks"


Dig around for a style or model # or otherwise and call "the Person" who installed it. If you have no docs or receipt you may have a tough time getting warranty service.

Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a homeowner perform electrical work in MA? dpd512 Electrical 77 04-11-2012 06:48 AM
Does your job require a permit? housedocs General DIY Discussions 203 12-01-2010 07:28 AM
Is it right that an owner must be licensed to perform work joey b Electrical 45 12-16-2008 10:16 AM
duct work framing kama Carpentry 4 11-15-2008 12:40 PM
Properly Sealing HVAC Duct Work craymer45 HVAC 5 11-06-2008 08:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.